France, Part 15-Musee d'Orsey


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
October 10th 2011
Published: October 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Note: The events in this entry took place on January 6, 2007. For more updated entries and trips, please refer back to this blog at a later date. An updated entry or trip will NOT have a note like this. Thanks and enjoy!


I wake up early in order to see the Musee d'Orsay before I head back to Dijon. I end up taking the metro of course from Invalides to the Musee d'Orsay stop and I take the time to tour the galleries. The museum contains a wonderful selection of Impressionist and Art Nouveaux artists from the 19th and 20th centuries. You will see all the famous artists here: Claude Monet, Degas, Van Gough, Edward Manet, Matisse, Cezanne, you name them they're here. The museum also gives details pertaining to the historical and artistic evolution of impressionistic art, from its beginnings to in end and transformation into the beginnings of the arts nouveaux movement. I also took some time to admire the beautiful former train station it was held in. I then make my way back to the hotel to pick up my backpack and tote bag, and then take the metro from les Invalides back to Gare de Lyons, picked up my train and headed back to Dijon.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb