Photos


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
June 3rd 2006
Published: June 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

DonerDonerDoner

This is the Doner Kebab!
K im gonna see if i can add some photos here bare with me!!

K I think I added some photos so tell me if you can see them and what you think!

We have that night train I wzs talking about last time tonight to Milano, and we have decided to put Venice back on the list so we are still going there!!

Also today and yesterday was exceptionally nice. I even got sunburned!! Its interesting to see how much different Paris is when its nice out. The scammers and the Gypsys really come out of the woodworks.

We went to the Sacre-Coeur to eat lunch since its almost 3 blocks from our hostel, and immediatly we were being harrassed by these guys to tie a string bracelet on us. When this happens you just say no and keep walking otherwise they might try cornering you. Of course I didnt let them, but if you do then they will tie it on you and then say ok that will be 20 euros. Of course at this point they are REALLY persistant, and people get really mad because they think these people are just being friendly and
Eiffle Tower!!Eiffle Tower!!Eiffle Tower!!

This is waaay cooler than it looks!!
what not. It was fun to watch how many people those string dudes would get to put those braclets on and the effect afterwards.

Then there is the Gypsys. They come up to you and ask you if you speak english. If you say yes they try to hand you this card. If you read it (I never read it didnt want to deal with them) it will say something like, I am a single mother of 20 with a grandmother with cancer i have 20 days to live whatever whatever a sob story basically. And after you read it then they will just bother you till you either give them food or money. Whenever they asked us if we spoke english we would just say no and ignore them. Just sitting on a bench eating lunch we were bothered by them 2 or 3 times.

Then at the Eiffle tower at night we encountered the rose dudes. These guys come up to you and act like they are giving you a rose, they did this to Jocelyne. She of course didnt take it, but if she had he then would have asked for probably 15 or so
Moulin RougeMoulin RougeMoulin Rouge

Not quite how I imagined it and much more expensive!!
euros.

When it was cold out, we saw none of them. In fact I dont know if I mentioned this before, but when we were on top of the Eiffle Tower it was sooo cold i saw snow comming down!!

Today was nice we went back to the Sacre whatever and saw the same scammers and Gypsys but then we went down a side street by there and they had the guys standing there pretending to be statues and if you put money in their bucket they would move for you. It was really neat, got some good pictures.

I just really like watching these scammers, they are SOO persistant and if they see any weakness they will corner you. It happened to a girl in our dorm, they cornered her, and I asked how much she paid and she said that she payed "too" much but it was worth it.... I would have just given them a euro and walked off.

Oh and I have a feeling that Jocelyne knows alot more french than she is letting on. Someone will say something and every now and then she will tell me what they are saying....
MonaMonaMona

Oops! Whats this!! I didnt mean to do that!!
she understand most french I think. She has come in handy here a few times!

Anyhow my time is about up, so give it a read look at the pictures and tell me what ya think!


Advertisement



3rd June 2006

Doner Kebabs??? Ugh!
Okay bud, no offence, but I knwo for a fact that there is much better food in europe than doner kebabs! That's the stuff you get at 2 am when you're drunk because it's the only place open! *shudders* Pics look good- 2 of them are sideways, but they look good. You went to the tower awfully early though, shame you couldn't go back during the day- you can see all of paris and how all the roads were built out, it's pretty cool. You got to see it lit though, which is cool too. Hope you're having fun dude- Venice is alright (just had someone come back from there) if you search out the art museums, otherwise he said there wasn't much? I hope he's wrong and you find lots to do!
3rd June 2006

Nice Pics
Those are some awesome pictures! The Doner Kebab looks like a chocolate shake, is that what it is? The pictures of the Eiffle Tower and the Moulin Rouge are awesome but I bet they looked much cooler in person. Enjoy the rest of your trip and I look forward to more pictures!
3rd June 2006

hello
HI Shawn i;m glad you are have a great time and you are traveling together then i know she is safe and so are you have a great time your young enjoy to shawn mom my e-mail is tower_mom@hotmail .com talk to you soon bye for now
4th June 2006

Nice Pics
Nice pictures! They are fun to look at. I looked at some of the pictures you sent Jearime. I look forward to when you come back and give the full picture presentation with explainations. What an exciting trip you are having. I'm glad you got to see more art too. It's really great stuff, especially once you get to Italy. When you get back you'll have to tell me how many of the pieces from the book you ended up seeing. Tell Jocelyne hi and that i really like reading her blog, very interesting :)
4th June 2006

WOW
Looks great Picture of Eiffle Tower is definitely taller than you !! Night pictures turned out good and donner Kebah looks yummy:) Nice picture of the Lady!!!!
4th June 2006

Aw!!
I'm so jealous of you right now you don't even know. I'm really enjoying your updates and really wish I could be there with you.. Specialy to see Moulin Rouge!!!! That's my Favorite Movie!!! so bitter right now.. lol

Tot: 0.465s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.2353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb