Paris Day 2


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
July 12th 2011
Published: July 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Gay Pareeee day 2... To start the day, I headed to the Sacre Coeur, a very Islamic influenced Catholic church. It is on the north side of Paris, and sits a top a hill (recall the last blog) offering a great view of Paris. I got there, and just had to go to the top; and for 8 euros (thanks mom and dad) and a few hundred steps I made it to the top and managed a few good photos of Paris. I can not tell you much about the church other than its beautiful, and there was a guy out in front playing the harp (and he was quite good). After leaving the church, I made my way to the Hotel Invalides (originally a hospital for vet's and wounded soldiers). However, at the metro stop for the hotel, or there abouts I found a Saturday market kinda thing. I walked around this for a bit seeing a whole lot of nics and nacs; nothing too great; but did find a bakery (and anytime I pass a bakery I must get a pain au chocolat.. aka a light bread with chocolate in the middle). But the best part of this bakery was that they had bread shaped like turtles!! After getting through the market, I stopped by the E'cole Militaire (military school). I didnt get pic's because I wasn't sure if I found it or not (i forgot that the school is still in operation; thus why I couldnt find a tour)... However, back to the Hotel Invalides. There is now an army museum at this place, but the main draw is that its the final resting place / a carcaphogaus for Napoleon there. Let's just say, for such a small man, he has a grand resting place beneath the golden dome. Im not sure what the tomb or whatever it is is made of, but it appeared to be some sort of wood and it was big... After the tour of this I checked out the gardens around the grounds (lets just say the French are meticulous gardeners... more on that in the next blog). I then continued on the the Musee d'Orsay; home of an impressive collection of 'modern' art; that being Monet, Manet and Picasso to name a few. What all I saw I'm not sure... I know I saw Van Gogh's self portrait, Whistlers Mother and some other (sorry no pic's on these). The Museum itself is pretty cool, as its located in an old train station and you can still here the new train when it comes by. After this I tried to find the catacombs of Paris (difficult without a map -- as i did most of Paris sans map; even more difficult given it was closed-- didnt learn this til later that night when reading my book). Either way, I stumbled my way around a quaint little block and managed to order some sort of potato salad from a butchers shop (it was pretty darn good, even though i ate it homeless stlye-- aka no fork or spoon). After this, I went to a cemetery near by. French cemetery's are pretty impressive, as everyone seems to have their own personal crypts. (again; more on this tomorrow).. I finally made it back to my hotel; but not before grabbing a kebab.. aka gyro meat on a hoagie with chili sauce... my go to meal...


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



13th July 2011

that dog
there is no way that is a dog...it is a cow...pics are gorgeous!!! I know you're having a blast and we all miss you at home! Turtle bread haha, who woulda thought. Bet you wished I was there when you found that, just to make fun of my speech impediment. Love you mon cheri xoxo

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb