If It's Tuesday Then It Must be Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
April 19th 2011
Published: April 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Photo 4Photo 4Photo 4

Carvings at the Catacombs
I have already lost track of what day of the week it is ... hence the title for this blog. There was a part of me that knew that that would happen (although not this quickly!!) so my itinerary is actually written down on a calendar.

Ever since coming with the idea of this trip, I've been wondering what I would get out of it. What worldly lessons would I learn along the way. Three days in ... not much time to have reflected on much but I have come to some conclusions. First I will return with calves of steel. This incessant walking up and down stairs of the metro and touristic sights have left me stiff as can be. When I walk down a flight of stairs, I walk like I have no knees. Second ... a cholesterol problem that will have me dipping into my dad's Lipitor. There is a Fromagier (Laurent Dubois) just down the street. Some girls like jewelry ... I'm drawn to cheese. C'est la vie! And you know how when you walk by Lush there is that overwhelming scent. Walk by Laurent Dubois Fromagier and it's the same ... God love stinky cheese!
Photo 44Photo 44Photo 44

Passageway at the Catacombs
I may also need a new liver because ... well ... the wine ... oh the wine.

So the first order of business today was the Catacombs. This had been on my list of sights to see in Paris last time I was here but the day I chose to go they were closed. Essentially due to overflowing cemeteries in Paris, the bones and skulls of millions were displaced in these underground tunnels (formerly quarries). In chatting with one of the security guards (what a job she had!!), there are close to six million people in the catacombs. I arrived relatively early (about 30 minutes after the time it opened) and was greeted with a very long line. They only let a certain number of people in at the same time so the wait was long, very long. Like a few hours long. I'm in no rush ... I have three months!! It's funny how people in line like that will tend to bond with one another. One little girl was singing to entertain us and I had a nice chat with a brother and sister who were travelling together from New Zealand. It made the wait go by
Photo 45Photo 45Photo 45

Passageway at the Catacombs
relatively quickly. The catacombs themselves are essentially 2km of passageways filled with bones and skulls from different cemeteries. It is dark and humid, with an eerie atmosphere. Especially in the areas where the water is dripping from the ceiling. Because it is such a long walk, you tend to lose sight of the people you were waiting in line with which meant that most of the journey through these eerie tunnels I was on my own.

After having waited most of the morning, I needed a little break and stopped in at a cafe for a lovely salad. People watching is just as entertaining as any touristic sight I have to say. I love just watching daily life go by.

From there, I hopped on the RER B line up to the Luxembourg stop. I love the Jardin du Luxembourg and I had to stop in. There was a bit of construction going on so it was not as pretty as I had remembered it. There were still the Parisians enjoying the beautiful weather by just relaxing and reading in the park. Tourists were meandering about. The Gendarme were faithfully watching the Senate at the Palais du Luxembourg.
Photo 5Photo 5Photo 5

Skulls and bones at the Catacombs


That would then take me to the Pantheon. It is an imposing building and one reminiscent of the Pantheon in Rome. The architecture is incredible. The highlight is Foucault's pendulum which hangs on a wire originating from the very high dome of the Pantheon. This pendulum is meant to prove that the earth revolves on its axis. Very difficult to imagine when looking at it as it stands still. There is a video however that shows the pendulum in motion and which essentially proves that the earth is moving on itself. It is quite something to see.

I then made my way up the Boulevard St. Michel to the Place de la Sorbonne, the famed Paris University. It's a small square that fronts the iconic building and it is surrounded by small bookstores and cafes and it is swarming with young students. The lure of the Amerino Gelato was calling and I had to stop in for a small cup. This time it was half chocolate and half Amaretto (Almond). Yum ... there really are no other words!

The last stop would be Notre Dame. I was distracted though by the Bateaux Parisiens. Having been on my
Photo 6Photo 6Photo 6

Catacombs
feet most of the day, the lure of sitting on a boat cruising up and down the Seine was very inticing. I had done this particular cruise last time I was here and I had enjoyed it. And with my Paris Visite metro card, you get a discount for it so why not. It was just a lovely way to end the day (and to give my poor feet a break!). I quickly stopped by Notre Dame afterwards but only meandered outside as it was too late to go in.

So now I have made my way back to my room (with a quick stop at Laurent Dubois Fromagier) for a lovely heart shaped cheese covered in spices. The small grocery store then rounded out the meal with a lovely baguette, strawberries and a Cote du Rhone. So tomorrow is the last day in Paris before heading south to my next destination ...






Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

Catacombs
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

Catacombs
Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

Lovely tulips at the Jardin du Luxembourg
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

Jardin du Luxembourg
Photo 11Photo 11
Photo 11

Senate at the Jardin du Luxembourg
Photo 12Photo 12
Photo 12

Doing what so many were doing at the Jardin
Photo 13Photo 13
Photo 13

The Greek Actor ... in the background you can see the Pantheon
Photo 14Photo 14
Photo 14

Fountain at the Jardin
Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

The Merchant of Masks
Photo 16Photo 16
Photo 16

Pantheon
Photo 17Photo 17
Photo 17

Pantheon
Photo 18Photo 18
Photo 18

Pantheon
Photo 19Photo 19
Photo 19

This was a guided tour service. It was called Four Wheels and an Umbrella.
Photo 20Photo 20
Photo 20

Inside the Pantheon
Photo 21Photo 21
Photo 21

Foucault's Pendulum
Photo 22Photo 22
Photo 22

Statue at the Pantheon


3rd May 2011

Amazing...
I'm catching up on your blog and the pictures of the catacombs are beyond amazing. Can't wait to read the rest of the blogs. I hope you're having a great time!

Tot: 0.398s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb