Meandering in Montmartre


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
April 18th 2011
Published: April 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

Arc de Triomphe
I may have found the cure for jet lag ... a lovely Chateau Haut Pineuilh Bordeaux. I woke up at 2 am this morning and was wide awake. The effects of jet lag of course. So I pounded back a couple of glasses and back to sleep. Heck ... some people take Gravol or Melatonin. A lovely Bordeaux works just as well and it will even help you curb your cholesterol. I may need that soon ... wait until you hear what I ate today!! The moral of that story though is that I slept through to 9:30 am ... I've never adjusted that quickly to the time change in Europe.

One of the things that I have been wondering about this whole trip was the question of what I was going to get out of it personally. What lessons would I learn? It struck me early this morning that one of those lessons would be about just enjoying the moment. As a relentless tourist, I often feel in a rush to get to wherever it is I am going ... part of it is because I am so excited to be going wherever it is I happen to be
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

Little shop in Montmartre
going but at the same time I shouldn't feel stress about it. I still have 85 days to go so ... really ... what's the rush!! So today I made the point of just soaking it in ...

One of the places I had been really looking forward to going back in Paris was Montmartre. Montmartre is filled with winding streets, artists, cafes and cutesy little boutiques. It is what I have always imagined Paris to be. But before getting there, I made a quick stop to see the Arc de Triomphe. I had been here last time but still just wanted to see it again. And truth be told, my photos last time were really boring and I just wanted a redo!

So any visit to the Montmartre area has to include a stop at Sacre Coeur. It sits high atop a hill (the Butte as it is known) and glistens in bright white under the beautiful Parisian sun (side note ... it was ridiculously gorgeous weather today ... no jacket required!). As I mentioned yesterday, the crowds are a little bit more abundant than the last time I was here but so were the artists and
Photo 4Photo 4Photo 4

Chocolate covered olives ... interesting!
street performers. It truly added to the atmosphere of the area.

As I said before, I had really decided to take my time and soak it all in (and in case you are wondering ... I know I'm in Paris but it still has not hit me that I am doing this for the next three months!). The first performer to peak my interest was a harpist. The reason he caught my attention was because he was playing My Way (or as the French woman sitting beside me kept humming ... Comme D'Habitude). He then went into a beautiful rendition of Let It Be. Loveliness! Then making my way up more stairs to finally reach the basilica, there was a violinist playing La Vie en Rose ... that's when you know you are in Paris!!

I had a quick visit of the basilica itself. Just as beautiful as I had remembered it. I took the time to sit in a pew once again and just look at the beautiful stain glass and details within this enormous church. I lit a candle and then made my way out again. This time a group had gathered around a young gentleman
Photo 5Photo 5Photo 5

Souvenirs
who was making these enormous bubbles. Little kids were of course running around trying to pop them. Another group had gathered around a musical group called Presteej. They were awesome and I stood there listening for a good five or six songs.

By that time I had "un petit creux" so it was appropriate that I found a cafe called "Aux Petits Creux". Cafe creme and a crepe filled with chocolate (oh what the French can do with Nutella .... I'm guessing that it's a food group for them!!) and bananas. Yum!!

I continued my aimless meandering around Montmartre being highly entertained by all of the artists painting or drawing portraits and all of the fascinating little shops. This walking around aimlessly took me to the Abbesses metro station; one of the few remaining metro stations with the antique art deco awnings. I remembered that there was a cute little park behind there and popped in once again (a little respite from the sun too!).

From there, I made my way towards the Cimetiere de Montmartre. I know ... visiting a cemetery is weird. I did the Pere Lachaise last time I was here and the Montmartre
Photo 6Photo 6Photo 6

Souvenirs
Cemetery is the second in popularity. Truth be told ... cemeteries make for great photo ops. I have quite a collection of different photos of angels that I've taken over the years and I was hoping to add to it. No such luck but still an interesting walk. I did see the tomb of Dalida, famous French singer. It's a little over the top I do have to say but she was the Charo of the French world so really what else could you expect!!

My day wound down with a quick stop to the Centre George Pompidou and the Stravinski Fountain right beside it. The fountain is filled with colourful objects like a firebird, a heart, snake and flaming red lips that twirl and spray water. The square where it is located is surrounded by cafes and young kids seem to congregate around the fountain and at the back of the Centre George Pompidou. There was a street performer juggling fire and other things to keep them entertained and he sure gathered quite a crowd. The Centre Pompidou is interesting to see because the building looks like it is inside out ... all of the infrastructure is actually
Photo 7Photo 7Photo 7

Sacre Coeur
on the outside. Apparently this is to make the inside more flexible to accomodate whatever art exhibit may be going on at the time.

The last time I was here I stayed just up a little from the Centre Pompidou. This prompted me to go back to the little bakery that had kept me in pastries and other goodies during my last stay. It's called Aux Desirs de Manon. There I found a panini chevre and the dessert to end all desserts ... a mille feuille! I grabbed the subway to make it back to my hotel and was getting weird looks from my fellow riders. I think that the panini was stinking up the train!

So another day in Paris comes to a close .... to be determined what I will be up to tomorrow!






Additional photos below
Photos: 103, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

Harpist ... he was playing My Way
Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

Getting their wedding photos done at Sacre Coeur
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

Sacre Coeur
Photo 11Photo 11
Photo 11

Getting all of the little kids excited with making bubbles!
Photo 12Photo 12
Photo 12

Cafe creme and a chocolate and banana crepe
Photo 13Photo 13
Photo 13

A table at Aux Petits Creux
Photo 14Photo 14
Photo 14

Bistro where I enjoyed my crepe and coffee
Photo 17Photo 17
Photo 17

Artist's palette
Photo 18Photo 18
Photo 18

Your typical French artiste!


18th April 2011
Photo 62

Best. Picture. Ever.
18th April 2011
Photo 27

Did you pick one of these up?
19th April 2011

Great photos...including JF's favourite:) Really captures daily life in Paris. And yes...Mona lisait...cute:)
20th April 2011

Comme il fait beau à Paris!! ... et que de bonnes choses tu bouffes! ... ça promet si le bordeaux te sert de somnifère! Profites-en!! ;)

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 25; dbt: 0.1067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb