Musée Carnavalet


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
February 17th 2010
Published: February 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday after class I went to chez Catherine. She gave me a book detailing Paris on the cheap! I'm sure it will be very useful in the coming months. We went to Le Marais and had lunch in the Jewish quartier. It was quite delicious. We saw a few Hotels, which are not where one sleeps on a vacation, but used to be homes owned by a single rich family. They are very pretty and have nice gardens.

The Musée Carnavalet is in 2 of these hotels and is a museum of the history of France. It has artwork and artifacts. I liked seeing the old metal signs that used to hang outside of businesses the best, and I really enjoyed the French Revolution section. Catherine bought me a great timeline of French history to give me a better idea of what I have seen, and to help when I come back. She also got me a map of Le Marais so I can come back and find my way around.

After the musée we stopped in a bread shop for a cup of tea and a baguette. It was really yummy with all the different jams and spreads to choose from. Catherine had the great idea to ask the waiter to take a picture of us.




Other pictures from the museum are here on the last page.


The past 2 days have been a mess of homesickness, class schedule sorting out, and wandering around...nothing too exciting. At least I no longer have overlapping classes, tho I do require a teleporter to get to 2 of them every other week. I enjoyed the nice weather today and walked up boulevard st michel, taking in the sights, and spent some more time in the library, which is very nice, although small, and hidden on the 5th floor of a dorm for international students.

Today I also encountered my first French protest. I wasn't able to completely understand what it was about, but something about schools and teachers, and it looked like more than one school was involved. It was quite big and went on for about 2 blocks.

Tomorrow I have my first Phonetics class. I am quite looking forward to it and improving my French accent. 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.279s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb