Paris ohh la la


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
January 25th 2010
Published: January 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

paris 012paris 012paris 012

The first place a saw in paris

PARIS Day 5



I woke up and headed straight for the train station. Since it was an express train it only took a couple hours to get to Paris. I arrived and headed straight for the hostel and having made a left when I should have made a right I stumbled upon the most beautiful park. Since this park was not on my map I realized I have gone the wrong way so I turned back with the intention of returning to the park once I unloaded my bag. I unloaded my bag and did just that.

Having returned to the park I stood in awe for a few minutes unable to fathom that this would exist in a city centre. It was stunning to say the least. It was called Parc De Buttes Chaumont. It looks like it was a large rock mountain that they reconstructed and added some fabricated pieces to look similar to the Mont St.Michel in Normandy. Even though it was fairly fabricated it was still breathtaking. There was small pond at the bottom of the mountainish thing and an observation tower at the top of the mountainish thing. They constructed a bridge to get across. It was really amazing so check out the pics of it.

After I pulled myself away from the park I headed to Notre Dame. The Cathedral was really nice with a lot of lovely paintings and an amazing Nativity Scene set up inside. I decided that since I had already been walking for two hours that day that I wouldn’t make the trek up the giant north tower with the many many many stairs. I did really enjoy the gargoyles on the outside of the cathedral their faces are so animated.

Next I headed along the Seine towards the Louvre. As I turned one corner I suddenly saw the Eiffel Tower come into my view. It actually stopped me for a minute as I realized that I was actually looking at the Eiffel Tower. Although I did think that it seemed much smaller than I had expected it to be but when you compare everything to the CN tower most things seem small. I guess I will need to head to Dubai in order to get a real wow factor from the height of a building. I continued along to the Louvre, which was really interesting
paris 009paris 009paris 009

The view from the top
to see. Unfortunately, I arrived 5 minutes too late and the ticket office was closed so I couldn’t go in and it was going to be closed the next day as well. I headed back out and walked around the gardens outside of the Louvre and I saw the Eiffel Tower sparkling away in the distance. I attempted to take many pics of the sparkling tower but as most of you know my hands aren’t the most stable for picture taking so it just seemed to look like the tower was exploding. But, to tell you the truth, I enjoy the exploding picture to the ones that actually almost turned out.

I headed back to the hostel and hit my bed hard as I had been walking for about 7hours that day.









Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

notre dame 5notre dame 5
notre dame 5

Inside the Notre Dame cathedral
eiffel explodingeiffel exploding
eiffel exploding

The Eiffel Tower exploding


Tot: 0.276s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb