Passing through CDG.


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
July 12th 2009
Published: July 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post


Europe 2009 Blog 1 *PARIS*
Current mood: exhausted
Category: Travel and Places
So, here I am. After 8 grueling hours on an airplane (albeit business class)- I have finally landed safely in Paris. The dread and terror of the upcoming flights had me in knots for the past few days, compounded by the typical sentimentality of a newly engaged girl leaving her Fiancee to go half way around the world for 3 months. Once the terror wore off- just about the time the tires hit the parisian tarmac- the thrill began to kick in.

Im glad I had a moment of excitment because the instant I stepped off the airplane I was reminded of exactly why I am such a shameless, typical, yes at times loud and obnoxious -but at least FRIENDLY- American. A bunch of skinny French people pushing each other out of the way with frowns on their faces, and me saying "excuse me" every 10 seconds....i eventually gave up and started pushing back. My first thought was that I hope they dont start a fire ramming into eachother that way (you know, rubbing sticks together,etc) and my second thought was....well....of course they are frowning and rude.....they are hungry! (Someone get these Frenchies a dumbourgeeeerrrrr!!!)

Aside from the immediate differences- such as repremanding my mom for going to the bathroom before landing- there are other things that remind me of why I get so tired of Europe so quickly. Plainly- its dirty here. The bathrooms are dirty, the airports are rather dirty, and here in paris- most of the people are dirty.

I am sure that there is a level of appeal to this country when thinking of history, art, wine, and perhaps even food if carbs are your thing. But for me, and call me spoiled if you like, France holds little- to- no appeal. At least not in the city. ( I would like to visit the country side sometime)

So, here I am. Sitting in a lounge writing this blog thinking....hmm.....maybe being in the hot, muggy Tennessee valley with Emam and our cat Dax wouldnt have been a bad way to spend the summer.

After a Croissant and some Capuccinno I hope I will feel a bit better. But for my first blog I just had to put it out there. I am sure my spirits will lift once I am in Italy, a country I love and adore.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb