Favorite things to do in Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
April 2nd 2009
Published: April 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

So, now that I can say I lived in Paris for 6 months, I am often asked, what was your favorite thing. One of my favorite things to do in Paris is go to the Marais, walk around and eat at my favorite falafel restaurant, L’as du Fallafel. Mmmmm, they are soooo good. The Marais is the Jewish and gay district of Paris and there are a number of really cute shops and most of the streets are cobble stone. There are a number of vintage stores in this area and you can see where all the fur goes to become moth food. It is also very close to Hotel de Ville, which is the very impressive main city hall building of Paris.

Another thing that I like to do is go and hang out in my hood. I didn’t live in the most touristy area of Paris and at first I wasn’t sure how I felt about that, but now, I have come to the conclusion that I really like it. Walking to the markets and just exploring was really great for me. I really enjoyed it. I live in the 19th androissment, near metro Stalingrad. This district is
FountainebleuFountainebleuFountainebleu

This palace is about 45 minutes outside of Paris via train.
considered to be the cosmopolitan district because there are so many different cultures. There is a large African population, Arab, Jewish, and Indian populations too. There are also a couple of parks, canal San Martin, cafes and brasseries, and the stores are really inexpensive.

On one of my last days in Paris, I decided to be a super tourist and take a boat ride down the Seine river. It was a really nice thing to do, especially after I had been there for so long. I was able to see all of the main sites, but there was a familiarity about them that I feel I could have only gained for having been there for so long. We even learned something that day! I saw the smallest house in Paris, facing the river.

Another thing that I really liked about my time in Paris was being there to really be able to appreciate the culture. Emilie and I were discussing it one day. Food is such an integral part of the Parisian life (I think I could even say French life.) Lunch is an event. At UNESCO, you have a choice, come to work from 9 - 5 and take an hour lunch break, or work 9-6 for a two hour. Two hour lunches are not uncommon, and coffee after is integral. I don’t think I can eat a three course meal for lunch everyday though, I often found myself bringing in my own, and enjoying the conversations. I will make a distinction between French and Parisians. The snotty people hear about in France are often the Parisians, and not the French in general - but there are some nice Parisians too. However, unless you are raised here, I think that it would be very difficult to be accepted completely, which is one of the downfalls of the culture. Some of my friends speak wonderful French, but it is not perfect Parisian and therefore they are considered outsiders. Now my French, that is an entirely other story. Seriously, this language is so darn hard! And I am surrounded by fantastic English speakers! C’est terrible! Je suis terrible! Mais…c’est vie.

I have talked about this in the past, but in a favorite things about Paris blog, I have to say how much I like the Velib’s. The Velib is the bike system of Paris. A person can rent a bike pretty much all over the city. The system is really great and does a lot for exercise and environment.

The metro is also great. I would not own a car in Paris, I don’t think. Driving is one thing, parking is so another and so horrendous. As much as the metro smells, and sometimes there is a drunk homeless person who has never come in contact with a bar of soap, it is such a convenient way to travel. The other system in Paris is the RER. The RER is generally faster than the Metro, but the Metro is more consistent and frequent (RER is pretty darn frequent though).

To end my favorite things in Paris blog entry, I would have to say, spending time my friends I have made here is definitely my favorite thing to do.

(Oddly enough, my pictures don't really reflect the blog, but they are pictures that I wanted to share)


Additional photos below
Photos: 58, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

The Paris zooThe Paris zoo
The Paris zoo

It looks just like my old goat Aruba
The Paris zooThe Paris zoo
The Paris zoo

They are way to cute - they are called "La Petite Panda"


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb