Paris, City of ...


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
November 28th 2008
Published: November 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Mind the GapMind the GapMind the Gap

My French is extremely limited ... but it appears that if you bring your rabbit onto the train, he's likely to have his fingers torn off.
... dog poop mostly from what I can tell. Granted I'm not out now that the sun's fully down to see how it lives up to the City of Lights moniker. But honestly even if the whole place shone brighter than the noon sun after dusk, the dog poop thing would still give it a run for the money.

Not that I'm complaining. Yet. (Actually, I'm loving the trip so far. It was supes easy getting over here, and we've had a blast today.)

And why am I not out on a Friday night? Jet lag, baby. Jet lag. At this point I've been awake for about 30 hours straight. So today there are only photos. I've tried several times to be pithy here, and it just ain't working. I'm not some trained money; I'm an artiste.

I promise there'll be jaded bitterness masquerading as pithy humor in no time.

I've got to go find creative ways to stay awake for a couple more hours. You kids have fun.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

And so it beginsAnd so it begins
And so it begins

Cafe creme #1 in what is already proving to be a fairly constant stream of caffeine to motor me through the jet lag.
Butter? I don't even know her.Butter? I don't even know her.
Butter? I don't even know her.

My frist sight out of the Paris Metro station. Enough delicious pastries to make you throw your cholesterol level right out the window.
You butter. You brought her.You butter. You brought her.
You butter. You brought her.

Holy cow. Were I to die and were there to be a heaven ... this is what my version would look like. Don't judge me.
View From A BroadView From A Broad
View From A Broad

The view from our apartment in The Marais. Note that there's a white blanket hanging out of a window at the top of the building directly in front of the camera. Crazy French. Always trying to surrender.
Street GropeStreet Grope
Street Grope

In an attempt to show how valuable fresh produce is to the average Parisian, a local gentleman checks the freshness of his melon.
Forest? Trees?Forest? Trees?
Forest? Trees?

Notre Dame (well the back of it at least) as seen through some trees.
That's not my wife. That's my gargoyle.That's not my wife. That's my gargoyle.
That's not my wife. That's my gargoyle.

The famed gargoyles of Notre Dame. You can spot the ones that have fallen off the building by the PVC pipe jutting out as its left behind.
Frozen SolidFrozen Solid
Frozen Solid

It's colder than cold out here in Paree. I'm trying to look cute here, but I think the cap makes me look like a monk or a line cook.
Love your hair. Hope it wins.Love your hair. Hope it wins.
Love your hair. Hope it wins.

Some architectural detail in a door in the Marais.
Knock Three Times.Knock Three Times.
Knock Three Times.

A door knocker in the Marais. Afraid to find out the mythology on this one ... but I think the color and composition are cool.
Building Codes? Feh!Building Codes? Feh!
Building Codes? Feh!

Note how the fronts of the buildings are all built on different reverse slants. The one with the pitched roof on the right is my fave.
Building Codes? Feh. Pt. 2.Building Codes? Feh. Pt. 2.
Building Codes? Feh. Pt. 2.

In a monastery gift shop (don't ask), Carlton attempts to dance on the ceiling. This was part of the reverse break dancing competition.


28th November 2008

Get some sleep
You've got some snarky comments, but I really love you at your peak. Plus, when you're tired, you make more typos. ;-)
28th November 2008

Yum.
Macarons. Eat lots of those. You know, for me. Take one (or five) for the team.
28th November 2008

Poop??!!
The city looks beautiful. Especially since you didn't photograph any of the poop. LOL. Have fun and I can't wait to see more posts.
28th November 2008

Missing You!
Love seeing your face in Paris! You look smashing! I miss you and keep writing!
29th November 2008

you DO look smashing. I love the photo of Carlton. Have fun and continue providing updates.

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb