What's in Paris? Nothing, only Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
October 14th 2008
Published: October 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So we arrived in Paris a few days ago. It is much warmer here than it was in Germany, and much, much more expensive. We took a couple of days to see a few of the standard sights, and we hung around an English-book store called Shakespeare and Company (it's a very old store where a lot of American and British writers have met in the past, and they have a very cool rare books section). We met a British guy working there and we explored the Latin Quarter with him and walked around the Seine. We also went and saw the Eiffel Tower (not so impressive for us Angelinos), the grave of Jim Morrison (not as exuberant as the man it contains), Notre Dame and its catacombs (which was cool) and the Museum D'Orsay, which has a Picasso/Manet exhibit that sparked a few lively conversations between Jason and I about 'art'.
Jason was anxious to move south and start searching out an apartment for us, and has since departed to do so. I was lucky enough to find CouchSurfers to put me up for another week, and since I haven't been to Paris before, I decided to stay here for a bit. We will meet up again in Madrid on Monday.
Jason took an all night train down to Spain and was able to stay with the woman we met on the plane back from Ibiza. I've just got my fingers crossed that he will have found a place by the time I get back. Otherwise our new residence may be the beautiful former-royal park Retiro, which we loved so much our first time in Madrid.
Pictures coming soon...
C




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Oktoberfest!!Oktoberfest!!
Oktoberfest!!

I don't know why this wasn't on the other one..
Some towerSome tower
Some tower

I can't remember what it's called


18th October 2008

Being forced
To write a message. Oh well. I wish I could go the places you guys have been and see the sights you've seen, as well as experience the experiences you've experienced! Your travel inspires me to get out and see the world as well! I can't wait until I'm doing what you do now but going the places I want to go!
18th October 2008

October in Paris
The sights you are seeing are phenominal! We love the pictures. It's like we're getting a free trip (on your backs) around Europa. I did find that picture of the graffiti a little bothersome. Is that really what the Parisian guys really look like? Ugh! Later, xo mom
21st October 2008

.....and by the way
.one man's art is another man's fish and chips wrapper. Always appreciate the effort. That doesn't mean u have to understand it! XO mom
2nd November 2008

hey! i'm a Picasso.......
Ah, no. That was Mr. Potato Head that said that. Anyway I wish I could have been a fly on the wall when you two were having your conversations about Picasso/Manet and i'm sure a few others. Frankly, I'll take Picasso any day. You can have Manet! Looking for more pics. xo, mom h.

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb