Parisian internship hunt, week 2


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
October 6th 2008
Published: October 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hunting for internships this late in the game is a pain. Just about the only official internships left on the market are less-than-glorified telephone operators for NGOs. But hey, at least you get paid 30%!o(MISSING)f minimum wage, right?

So as I was checkin out my internship options here in Paris, I decided to start easy. I went to google and I typed "internship Paris". Brilliant! I found all sorts of organizations willing to find interesting internships for me! Then I read the fine print...I'd have to PAY THEM 2000+ USD for a 4-month gig! That's ridiculous. Who would pay money to do work for someone? Then I thought about it for a second and it dawned on me...I'm paying my school 2650 Euros for the right to do an internship I haven't even found yet! Now that really is ridiculous. I'm paying money to them and they don't even have to do anything!

To my surprise, however, I have learned that if you're on the ball there are a fair amount of paid internships out there, even with NGOS (yes, as mentioned before, it's only 30%!o(MISSING)f minimum wage, or max 398 Euros per month). Most int'l orgs, governments, or other publicly financed institutions don't pay at all though.

So far I've bid on offers at OXUS Development Network () and the Institut de Relations Internationales et Stratégiques (). I'm hoping for a call back in the next day or two.

If anybody else out there is ever looking for fall internships in the future, plan to have all your applications submitted by no later than the first of July.




Advertisement



15th October 2008

Webster Says
I think the word that best suits paragraph 2 is "asinine". Best of luck on the internship front.

Tot: 0.275s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb