or, i could have just waited for today's ny times feature!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
December 12th 2005
Published: December 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

This morning, to my surprise, the front page of the International Herald Tribune contained a NY Times feature based in La Courneuve. This is the city in which I teach. So, if you desire a journalistically-written account of my last entry, here is the link:

http://www.nytimes.com/2005/12/12/international/europe/12suburb.html

Check out that picture of Sarkozy grafiti: there is nothing that the immigrant population likes to discuss more than their hatred of their interior minister. Anytime I want to get my students talking, I just start talking about him. They immediately just spill out into angry French shouting, and I try to get them to translate it. He's a detested figure in these areas. Tonight, on my tram ride back to the metro, a homeless man just started screaming, "Sarkozeeeeeeeeeee" out at everyone. If only I had my camera with me!

Smooch!

Advertisement



16th December 2005

again with the oh la la - ing
girlie woo. i must admit that i can only read about all this with mildly bittersweet enthousiasm if that makes sense. i really really miss you and france and together they were something that couldn't even hope to be topped by anything or anyone else. je ne sais pas ce que je dis, mais j'essaie dire que toi et la france, vous roulez haha get it?!?!? je t'aime...and since when is french men asking you out on the street a con to living there ?@?!@?@:Ekf[os i4 haha bye!

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb