Paris in November


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
November 23rd 2005
Published: November 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Chris and KatieChris and KatieChris and Katie

These lovely people from my college days stopped by Paris last weekend! We had a blast!
It has suddenly become cold here in Paris. The seasons here change so differently - literally in one week! France doesn't have a big fall with leaves changing like many parts of the United States. Instead, usually the weather instantly changes from warm days to cold days.

I can't complain though - I am still loving in this city. My job challenges me, as I don't think I am made to be a teacher, much less a teacher in a low-income school. I've had some interesting experiences throughout this month. My school is located in La Courneuve, directly in the suburban area afflicted with the riots. To everyone who emailed me: thanks for all your concern. I am going to write about the riots soon. I had a hard time knowing what to say when they were happening, and now I just need to take some pictures of the suburbs.

In a way, my life right now is bittersweet. My job situation has been incredibly challenging on many levels (most of those levels I didn't even think existed until I left the country). Being paid by the French government is an experience that every American should have to attempt!
Galleries LafayetteGalleries LafayetteGalleries Lafayette

The most famous department store in Paris. This place is unbelievably huge and beautiful!
Because the job is so difficult, I think it will be nice to return home to the normalcy of the United States eventually. Law school doesn't seem like such a huge challenge anymore - now that I have taught in a foreign country in one of the poorest high schools, I feel like I'm up for anything. Massive amounts of studying is okay - as long as it's in English! At the same time, I know the minute I leave this city, I will miss it terribly. There are some things about Paris that I just love that don't exist elsewhere. And when I get used to having to communicate almost everything in French, coming home and only using English makes me feel stagnant.

Despite all the bittersweet emotions, I am so glad I came. My goal here was to learn where I wanted to live when I "grow up", where I want to work, and accordingly, what course of study I wish to pursue in law school. I'm happy to report that I am figuring that out!

Other than that, this hasn't been a very exciting month. I had a nice little visit from some Kansas people, and I can't wait until the holidays for my mom and my best friends to visit! Enjoy the pictures I have posted, and hopefully soon I will be writing about the suburbs.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Skulls in the Catacombs.Skulls in the Catacombs.
Skulls in the Catacombs.

Southern Paris contains a mass underground grave system. This dates back to a plague in the 1800's wherein the city ran out of cemetery space. They actually had carts and priests that drove around the city picking up bodies and administering the last rites. And they stacked all the bodies underground. Now you can take a tour and see all the bones. It was cool - at one point a little French kid jumped out of the shadows though, and I screamed!
Fondue!Fondue!
Fondue!

I went out with American girls to get some fondue!
Sacre-CoeurSacre-Coeur
Sacre-Coeur

A church in the North of Paris - it sits atop the highest point in Paris.


Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb