Warfare, Vincent, Renoir, the Wheel of Death & Jimi Hendrix


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
November 16th 2005
Published: November 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Half a day of warfare



15/11/05 - The Invalides Hospital in Paris was originally built at the request of Napoleon to ensure his injured troops were taken care of. On the same site are the Musée l’Armée and the Tomb of Napoleon. The Musée l’Armée consumed most of my day; it has an incredible display of everything to do with warfare, arms, uniforms and armour. You can imagine, it is definitely the kind of museum that I could spend most of my day in, but perhaps not Lorenza (so a few days alone in Paris have a positive side). There was a section dealing with WWII that I found incredibly interesting, mainly because as a resident of the southern hemisphere I know a fair amount about the dealings Australia had with Japan during that war, but to see the French story of WWII was fascinating.

Now, one guy who experienced his fair share of warfare was Napoleon, so a visit to his tomb was in order consider the dome above it dominates the area around the Invalides Hospital so impressively. He may have been a diminutive guy height wise, but his achievements and his tomb are larger than life. I also noted that Vauban, the guy who fortified Neuf-Brisach, also has the honor of having his tomb in the same building, along with many of Napoleon’s Generals.

The other half art



I spent the remainder of my day at the Musée D’Orsey, admiring impressionist works by the likes of Vincent Van Gough, Renoir and Manet. Plus, an exhibition of Russian art. I think this was a good counter balance to the other half of my day.

Aaaargggh, yeah nice apartment, was Fangio Danish?



Later, I went for a drive to see an apartment which friend’s of Jean’s had just rented. So, there I was in the passenger seat of a car being driven by a Danish women, who spent most of her time on her mobile talking to her boyfriend, while she navigated her way through the huge round-a-bout at the Arc de Triumph, then through the peak hour traffic chaos that is central Paris. Then via numerous back streets, u-turns and near misses with pedestrians, busses, and motorcycles, we arrived at our destination. Oh, did I mention it was raining and the car belonged to her boyfriends new boss?

The apartment was nice enough, we did a quick tour of inspection and then away we went again back to Jean’s place, via much the same route, some very tangled round-a-bouts and onto the wheel of death under the Arc de Triumph again, five calls on the mobile, changing gears and using the sat-nav buttons at the same time and “voilà” we make it back again. Was I glad to get a nice glass of Pinot Gris down my throat!!!

The Danish grand prix driver, Alessandra and her boyfriend, Etienne, are also staying with Beatrice and Jean at the moment, so their apartment is an interesting place to be at the moment. It’s amazing how private it can be, even though there are seven adults here at present. I lucked out and have the sofa bed in the lounge room, which is not so bad when you consider how good a view I have of the Eiffel Tower from my temporary bedroom. Although I wish they would stop the light show at about 11pm so I can get to sleep a little earlier. On the hour, every hour, the tower puts on an amazing light show that is absolutely spectacular.

1971 Isle

of Wight Festival

This has nothing at all to do with how I spent my day, but …… at dinner this evening we were talking around the table about travel and someone mentioned the Isle of Wight. Next thing we know Beatrice tells us that in 1971, she and a cousin attended the Isle of Wight Festival, which featured, among others, Jimi Hendrix and Melanie. Now considering Beatrice has a love of classical music, those that know her would be as shocked as I was by this admission. Always full of surprises these French relatives!

Last day in France



16/11/05 - Jean and Beatrice took me to Fontainebleu today, my last day of touring in France. Again an amazing place to visit. Check the photos, it was the Palace of all the Kings of France to Napoleon III.

I must admit I have mixed emotions today, naturally I am looking forward to going home and seeing Lorenza and the pooches, but it is a shame to be saying goodbye to Jean, Beatrice and family, plus all my friends and relations in France, plus the folks in the Netherlands..

I leave for the airport in the morning at 6am, and another wonderful, long distance flight, stopping off in Singapore for one night.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.083s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb