Change of plans - did I have a plan?


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Strasbourg
November 13th 2005
Published: December 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

My second last evening in Niedermorschwihr was an enjoyable occasion. Bernard (Jean & Beatrice’s friend), his wife Eliane, daughter Miriam (plus her boyfriend, who’s name escapes me - could be Franz?), joined Jean, Beatrice, Ella-Pauline, Nellie and myself for dinner. It was good to share a meal and drinks with them before I departed Niedermorschwihr as they have all been so friendly to Lorenza and me on our two visits to Alsace. Miriam is the president of the local organization responsible for raising funds to maintain and restore the church tower. She is very passionate about her role and cause. She spoke for sometime about the different fund raising projects they had and were trying. It is good to see that someone young is interested in maintaining the history of her birthplace.

Bernard got scolded a few times by his wife for drinking a bit more wine than she may have liked him to, and it was amusing to watch him quietly ignoring her suggestions that it should be his last glass!

A new plan



Jean made the suggestion that if I wished to see a bit more of Strasbourg it could be a good idea to make
Dinner 1Dinner 1Dinner 1

Left to right = Eliane, Jean, Miriam, umm, Ella-Pauline
use of the studio which Ella-Pauline rents there. So, my original plan of returning the car to Strasbourg, then getting the train to Paris soon changed. Now, a much better plan presented itself - drive to Strasbourg with Ella-Pauline, spend the night in Strasbourg, get the train back to Colmar and then get a lift to Paris with Jean and Beatrice. Ok, why not!

How far is Entzheim?



The car depot was at Entzheim, maybe 20 minutes from Strasbourg. Ella-Pauline and I managed to find it ok and successfully handed back the Renault Scenic. The jovial guy behind the counter reminded us that I was supposed to give 72 hours notice that I was returning the car, this seemed rather odd considering all he did was get me to sign a return form and the transaction was complete. How hard was that?

We waited at the car depot for Ella-Pauline’s boyfriend, Oliver to come and collect us. He had apparently checked on an internet mapping site exactly how to get to the car depot. While Ella-Pauline and I waited, we realized that the inhabitants of Entzheim are extremely friendly; they all said a happy “bonjour” to us
Dinner 2Dinner 2Dinner 2

Left to right = Nellie, Bernard, Beatrice
as they entered the service station/car depot.

So, as we waited for Olivier, about 30 minutes had expired and we also discovered that the coffee machine dispensed Europe’s worst coffee. 45 minutes expired and we began to wonder if we had told Olivier the correct town name. After waiting for one hour we began to wonder if Olivier had any problems with the car and I toyed with the idea of another terrible coffee. After one 80 minutes I decided to risk the coffee and Ella-Pauline and I discussed the possibility of the Entzheim inhabitants being friendly enough to invite us for dinner.

So, after 90 minutes, Oliver and his black VW arrived, we were very relieved and he was obviously a bit embarrassed that he got lost so close to the city he has lived in for the past ten years.

No coffee on offer in China - well not the Alsace quarter anyway



Once I had deposited my day pack at the studio, Olivier departed to get some sleep (he had just finished a 24 hour shift at a hospital), while Ella-Pauline and I took a walking tour of Strasbourg by night. We then
Astromical ClockAstromical ClockAstromical Clock

A section of the clock in the Strasbourg cathedral
took a few drinks in a bar; I tried “Bush Beer”, which turned out to be a rather interesting, floral tasting beer from Belgium (I think). We dined at a Chinese eatery, were they completely forgot to offer us coffee after our meal, which meant zero tip for that fellow. The food was good, as was the wine, but to give us the bill before offering coffee deserved a 20% discount as far as I was concerned.

After dinner we decided to find a café or bar that did not mind offering us some coffee. This was not so hard, and we finished our night we some conversation, a coffee and a glass of Pinot Gris.

Strasbourg is not a large city, but at night it is interesting to take a walk around. It was getting a bit chilly, so at about 11.30pm it was good to find the heating in the studio worked very well.

I slept like a baby and next morning woke early to find it was foggy and definitely cold outside. I successfully survived the challenge of climbing in and out of the shower-bath, which if I was not of average height, could prove rather dangerous. So, after a morning coffee I rugged up in every bit of warm clothing I had with me and ventured out into the morning fog.

Thanks mate



I walked very briskly through the area called “Petite France” and then discovered that by the banks of the river Ill it was about another 2 degrees colder than away form the river. My wonderful French language skills managed to amuse the waitress in the café I decided to have petite déjeuner at. she laughed at my accent would you believe and then in a very Canadian accent told me that no matter how much French I learnt I could never hide the fact that I am an Australian. How dare she be so cheeky and insult me so! After my breakfast she collected my payment and then very clearly counted out my change for me in English and then again in French and laughing told me “Thanks mate, have a great day” in a fake Aussie accent.

So, with the best wishes of the Canadian waitress in mind, I continued my tour of Strasbourg as the fog lifted. The highlight of my tour was definitely the astronomical clock in the cathedral. The show it put on at midday was well worth a 30 minute wait outside in the cold. Midday or midnight is obviously the best time to view any clock which puts on such as performance as this one, the small figures that appeared ran through the journey of life, from the cradle to the grave. The workings of the clock are incredible and I hope my few photos give some idea of what it is like.

Ella-Pauline met me in the main square and we headed back to her and Oliver’s apartment for lunch. I can definitely recommend her tomato tart, but it is a good idea to bring along your own cork screw (theirs had vanished and we had to borrow one form the neighbours). I hope admitting to this does not embarrass Ella-Pauline, but at the time it was very amusing.

After lunch, the three of us had planned to do a boat tour on the river Ill, but unfortunately they were completely booked out for the remainder of the day. So, back to walking - Ella-Pauline did her best to replace the commentary that was given on the boat ride with her own and I found out some interesting facts about why Alsaciens originally built those half timbered houses which are a trade mark of the area (it was os they could be dismantled and moved if need be).

The 6.55pm to Colmar



I really enjoyed spending a bit more time in Strasbourg, it was great to spend some time with Olivier and Ella-Pauline, and they were very gracious tour guides. Plus, aside form being very gracious they are easy going and genuine people. They made sure I caught my train back to Colmar in time and waved me off at the station. Ella-Pauline had to purchase my ticket from a machine, even though I had practiced so hard how to ask for it at the counter. The queue was too long and I would have missed the train, so that was another phrase I would have to save for next time.

I know I have mentioned a few times how nice it is to have friends and family to visit on our travels. It is worth repeating that it is wonderful to spend time in a city that you have no idea about and be lucky enough to have such wonderful people to show you around and share some time with. The two wonderful things about travel are the places you go and the people you meet (perhaps the balance between the two is 50/50).

Back in Colmar, Jean collected me from the station and we dined at Nellie’s place. So, another goodbye was completed. I think the fish we ate was cod? It tasted good to me and washed down with some more of Jean’s wine, how could anyone complain - not me!

The green bus to Paris



Next morning we loaded the green bus belonging to Jean and Beatrice with luggage, food, furniture and wine, plus Bernard (the Priest) and myself. The four of us and a big load, then headed off to Paris together. The trip took about five and half hours, via some great countryside, first mountains, then onward through expansive farmland, then finally to the Paris traffic on a Sunday evening.

I have a few days to go before I depart for Australia and home. So, I will see a few of the things in Paris that Lorenza may not have found so interesting, like a Military museum, the tomb of Napoleon, and some other blokey things, perhaps the tour of the Paris sewer system?

Advertisement



31st October 2006

coffee will be never offered in France, Anywhere !!!
Or tell me where Escpecially in Strasbourg water and bread are free but there is no bread in chines restaurants ... Another Olivier in Strasbourg
5th November 2006

I did not expect to get it for free, but they could ask if you want it before presenting the bill don't you think?

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0216s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb