Nothing but Blue Skies


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
January 7th 2008
Published: January 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The weather has brighten up and Paris showed his best side today. The sky was blue, dry and clear.

I decided to take the train from Versailles to Champs de Mars and take a walk with my camera around the Eiffel Tower, continuing along the Seine. The Petit Palais, Concorde and even bits from the Louvres came in to my viewfinder. Seduced by the great light I just snapped away without thinking much. It was like meeting a forgotten, past love and being captured by the same qualities once again.

Paris is still a great city. The grande dame can leave one speechless. The streets, bridges and buildings have the charm only hundreds of years old architecture seems to have. I try to imagine the time when all this was built, such power and wealth must have been driving the splendor in this city. Sometimes a bit to flowery, big and sweet in all her beauty, yet still mesmerizing.

After walking a few hours I sat down in the wonderful Tea house Angelina for a tasty dark chocolate, a quiche and a salad. When i stepped outside again later, the sun started already to set. I closed my day next to the louvre watching a few men playing boule. In their background two girls popped a bottle of champagne and next to them was a man in a chair, who dozed off in the middle of the louvre gardens. A few things still have changed little in our fast paced world and the thought left a warming and nostalgic feeling in me. Despite the chill and cold January day, I strolled off with a smile.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb