The City of LOVE!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
October 3rd 2007
Published: October 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Considering we were going to be travelling soooo close to Paris... i had managed to convince sam and mum to let me take them there and show them the city of frogs legs, crazy drivers and love! So after Amsterdam, it was about a 5 hour drive to Paris, straight through Belgium.

It was so lovely driving through the little French villages along our way, and we saw loads of war memorials all through Belgium and France. My brother Darren had only been in Belgium the day earlier visiting our great uncles war grave and finding out family history stuff, so we missed out on seeing him but hope to catch up in France over the next couple of days.

Paris was busy, wet and hopeless to drive through. I am now convinced that I can drive in any conditions and anywhere! There are no lines on the roads so people just drive any old way and there are no illegal parking signs so people also park wherever they like...I mean people parked their car on pedestrian crossings! Most of the way through the city I had mum screaming at me from the backseat “Kimberley get back on your side of the road!!”…I reassured her that it’s ok, this is how people drive in Paris mum😊



We bought crepes, wondered up Champs Elysees, took hundreds of photos of the Eiffel Tower, visited the Louvre and the Sacre Coeur, and I even managed to convince mum to eat snails. On our last night in Paris we splashed out and went to a dinner and show at the Moulin Rouge. Now, I have seen many live shows before but this was just beyond fantastic and incredible…the costumes and live snakes on stage and everything…just amazing!



Our time in Paris, while short, was such an experience and I did so many things there that I hadn’t done on my previous trip.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



4th October 2007

I wish I were in Paris again...
Hi Kim! Your time in Paris sounds amazing! I've only been in Paris once but I loved it. Funnily enough, i think i've eaten at that cafe that you took a picture of! Is the carousel the one that is at Sacre Coeur? I can't wait to take Brydon to Paris next year - he's never been!
4th October 2007

franch: italian's cousins
hi kimy,your travel diary is lovely! as i love drive my car around europe i just can be jealouse...paris is fantastic but u cannot visit europe without visit mediterranean countres,(like italy and spain hihi) ;) and u were so close,just 4 hours, it's a shame!!anyway,italy does't go away....but in september there was near 30 degrees,crazy... have fun in london,hope to see u soon graziano

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb