All Settled In


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
September 7th 2005
Published: September 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well, I wanted to go ahead and post the pics I've taken since the last post even though I haven't taken the time to write much. I promise I will actually write stuff to go with the pics I post soon.

Until then however, a funny story: I included the picture of my meal at a McDonald's (which I've only eaten at like 3 times in 10 days . . . it may seem like a lot but it is actually much less than I eat fast food in Edmond, and I'm really trying to eat local). You would not believe how popular (and expensive) "American" things are here, whether French people will admit it or not. McDonald's is one of these things (also included in this category is the Gap, Calvin Klein, Ralph Lauren, surfer brands, A&F, etc.) The pic of my meal (which cost like twice as much as it would in the US) is included to commemorate the success of my finally ordering something the way I like it . . . plain and dry. This was a huge victory, and I promptly celebrated my mastery of the French language by entering the Women's restroom in the
Eiffel TowerEiffel TowerEiffel Tower

These are four of us who live together in the Foyer Charonne. We were having lots of fun in this pic on our first real tour of Paris on a bus.
McDonald's. C'est la vie.

Also, class started today! I was so excited to begin learning French, so I will actually be able to communicate with people here in a normal way. My French class lasts two hours a day and meets five days a week. That will be extended to three hours a day in a couple weeks for about a month's time to practice phonetics. I will have lots of studying to do as the professor said we should study two hours a day outside of class; I will also have another class (An Architectural History of Paris) to prepare for as well. I have a French test tomorrow, so I'm going to go study --- JARED



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

La SorbonneLa Sorbonne
La Sorbonne

This is the home of the admistration for the school where I'm studying French. There are also some graduate level courses taught in this beautiful building, but alas, none for me.
PantheonPantheon
Pantheon

The Pantheon is where the bodies of many famous Frenchmen are entombed. Victor Hugo, Alexandre Dumas, and Pierre and Marie Curie are just a few of the famous people buried here.
rue de Charonnerue de Charonne
rue de Charonne

This is a view of the street I live on in the 11th arrondissement. The lanes are divided by a central walking area lined with beautiful trees.
Foyer CharonneFoyer Charonne
Foyer Charonne

The brown double doors are the entrance to my building (the building to the left of the red doors).
My Favorite Park (so far)My Favorite Park (so far)
My Favorite Park (so far)

This is Square Louis XIII in the Marais on a Sunday, when families picnic and enjoy the sun.
Arc de TriompheArc de Triomphe
Arc de Triomphe

Another view of the famous arch.
ParadeParade
Parade

Veterans gather every evening (or at least once a week) to march across the huge traffic circle (twelve avenues of traffic converge around the Arc de Triomphe) to lay flowers on the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier that is beneath the Arch.
Tomb of the Unknown SoldierTomb of the Unknown Soldier
Tomb of the Unknown Soldier

This is the French version.
The Paris Opera HouseThe Paris Opera House
The Paris Opera House

Now known as the Opera Garnier, this is the inspiration/setting for all the Phantom of the Opera tales.
McDonald'sMcDonald's
McDonald's

I'm lovin it!
Opéra BastilleOpéra Bastille
Opéra Bastille

This is the opera house that was built to replace to Opera Garnier. It is located on the Place de la Bastille, a large traffic circle very close to where I live. A picture in my last entry is of the statue on top a column in the middle of the Bastille traffic circle.
Dôme des InvalidesDôme des Invalides
Dôme des Invalides

Napoleon's tomb is here.


8th September 2005

Fun
Your pics were great I wish I was there with you but someone has to pay my mortgage:-( Keep me posted on class and your site seeing. Talk to you soon, Jessica
9th September 2005

C'est Bonne!
Est-ce que tu veux m'embrasser? ha ha, have they taught you that in French yet, you remember what it means I'm sure, just for the ladies! I love your pics, I stood in some of the same places you're taking pics at, ugh makes me miss it!!! have fun!!
9th September 2005

Cost
We want to know the cost of the public buildings and museums you are touring? Send lots more photos. You are so brave.
13th September 2005

fun, fun!!
I am so glad your having fun. I hope that your classes are going great. I really hope to visit sometime it looks awesome. I am glad to hear from you and hope to talk to you soon. Love Dawn
22nd September 2005

Jared, I have enjoyed your photos; they bring back many memories for me. I hope you are having tons of fun and learning loads. School here is in gear at last; I miss seeing you at Casady aftercare. I'll look forward to seeing more pics and hearing more wonderful stories.
23rd September 2005

YAY!
I am so excited to have this insight into your Parisian adventure. I am uber jealous right now! I am also cracking up that you eat things plain and dry... so do I! ha! Anyway take care, drop me an email, I would enjoy hearing from you!

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb