Paris! Oui!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
September 1st 2005
Published: September 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well, I just got an adapter so my computer will have power and I'll finally be able to post some things. Its almost 1AM here so I'm tired right now, but click "read full text" to see some pictures to start off my blog.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

La Carte OrangeLa Carte Orange
La Carte Orange

My beloved subway pass . . . I can go anywhere in zones 1-2 on any of the public transport in Paris with this card, which cost 50 Euros (about 60 US$) and is good for one month.
the Hostel Residentsthe Hostel Residents
the Hostel Residents

These are three of the eighty people who are on the same program as I and live with me in the Hostel (only six of us live in the building with many French and other foreign students). From L to R: Ashely, Kyle (my roommate), and Leisha.
French FriendsFrench Friends
French Friends

Everyone has been nice so far; thankfully not at all what I'd been told to expect by almost everyone. This is a picture of some friends (Sylvin and Jean) we made that also live in our building. L to R: Sylvin, Leisha (from Kansas), Moi, and Jean
My BookshelfMy Bookshelf
My Bookshelf

I have some great books to help me while I'm in Europe!
My Room (view from the Entrance)My Room (view from the Entrance)
My Room (view from the Entrance)

This is the view of my room from the entrance.
My Room (view from the Windows)My Room (view from the Windows)
My Room (view from the Windows)

This is the view of my room from the windows.
FireFire
Fire

We took the metro (subway) to the BHV (a kind of like a department store) which is the Hotel d'Ville stop. When we came up from underground there were all these people standing around and police and firefighters coming to fight this fire, which we were later told was the result of a toy factory exploding.
Arc de TriompheArc de Triomphe
Arc de Triomphe

Kyle, Ashely, Leisha, and I went to see the Ard de Triomphe after leaving the scene of the fire.
CEA officeCEA office
CEA office

This is where the CEA Paris offices are located, at 5, rue de Charonne, 75011 Paris.
BastilleBastille
Bastille

This statue graces the top of a long column in the center of the traffic circle at Bastille, where our group had lunch at a sidewalk cafe.


1st September 2005

Sweet!
Jared I'm so excited for you and I'm glad that you've met some nice people! Just from looking at your pictures I'm excited for you and incredably jealous!! I know you'll have a great time!!
2nd September 2005

Awesome
I'm so glad your having fun and have made friends already. Keep me posted on how its going. I miss you and hope you have a great time. Love you, Jessica PS I got the job at BOK and will be turning in my 2 week notice today!
2nd September 2005

Wow!
Jared, that's so awesome that you're in Paris! I've been there before and loved it except I met some pretty rude people. I hope you have a great time there!
3rd September 2005

Jared you are seriously the coolest person I know!!
7th September 2005

Bonjour!
Bonjour Jared, ca va? Je suis tres bien mais j'ai tres fatigue :-( Ok I'll quit with the french, you hear it all the time! Anyway, just wanted to say hi--j'adore ton photos!! They are so pretty, makes me want to go back!! Anyway, have a blast, Jessica gave me your email address so I'll keep in touch!!
7th September 2005

Exciting
Hey Jared it looks like things are going great and you are having fun. Glad you have met some people you can hang out with. I am so excited for you and wish I could be there. Hope you have a blast and keep in touch.
8th September 2005

Bonjor!
I think that is the correct spelling! :) Well, I got a job at the Express International Headquarters. I write proposals for a government client. It isn't what I see myself doing, but it pays $15 an hour so I am not complaining. I am glad that you made it to France alright and are enjoying it. Keep me posted! :)
8th September 2005

Hi
Loved your pictures. Have a wonderful time. Brenda
6th November 2005

Jared hope all is well!

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb