Paris Unexpected


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
July 18th 2005
Published: July 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Great AmbienceGreat AmbienceGreat Ambience

I love the fact that you're allowed to drink in public in Europe. A couple beers with new friends under a glittering Eiffel Tower isn't a bad way to spend a night in Paris...
I was supposed to get off at Tours today and spend 2 nights there. When we got into Tours though, not only was the hotel full, but it was raining hard. I had no interest in wandering the town in pouring rain trying to find a bed, and even less interest in biking to the various chateaux is dismal weather. Consequently, I found myself unexpectedly in Paris at around 5pm. My bed for the night was in the Hotel Andre Gill. It cost the same, but was nowhere near as good as my hotel during my first visit to Paris, Hotel Avenir. I was only there for one night though, so it wasn't a big deal.

Having nothing to do and having met some new people, I hopped on the bike tour again, and had a beer or two with them in front of the Eiffel Tower afterwards. We actually ended up missing the last metro going from Charles de Gaul Etoile to Anvers station, and split cabs.

It's going to be a new city (and country) tomorrow as I head to Amsterdam.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb