A Night in Amsterdam


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
July 19th 2005
Published: July 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Amsterdam WaterwaysAmsterdam WaterwaysAmsterdam Waterways

Amsterdam is almost as waterlogged as Venice. I don't have anything more scenic, considering that I'm only in town for a night.
I was barely awake this morning when Busabout decided to test my nerve and grace. Until today, none of the coaches I've been on have ever been completely full. That changed today. I was one of four stand-by people this morning (my booking for the Paris-Brugge-Amsterdam trip being 2 days too late courtesy of my impulsive decision not to stay in Tours), and the guide informed us that there was one free seat. That turned into two free seats when there was one no show, but two was still two too few. As is Busabout tradition, the driver drew ID cards, and one guy and one girl got chosen. Fortunately (for me that is), the guy was traveling as part of a pair. Splitting up not being an option, they elected to take the train, leaving the seat open for me. A slightly less unnerving version of events played out in Brugge as well.

At the end of the day, I made it to Amsterdam, fully aware that the northern Busabout circuit is a just a tad busy right now. I made a few new friends, and spent the evening wandering with three other guys. Amsterdam is actually really easy
Moving LogisticsMoving LogisticsMoving Logistics

It was brought to my attention that a lot of the houses in Amsterdam have hooks extending from their roofs. Apparently, the narrow staircases mean that large furniture has to be hoisted in from the windows!
to navigate, the roads (and canal network) forming a very good imitation of a spider-web, radiating out from the central station. We didn't get to see too much of the place in daylight, but it seems very nice.

Since I only had one night, at it was 9pm by the time my new friends and I were in central Amsterdam, the natural destination was what is probably Amsterdam's #1 attraction: the red light district. Backlit window rooms framed by red neon lights (with mostly naked women inside) is very much the Amsterdam cliche, but it's still interesting and amusing to see everything in person. Having skipped the Moulin Rouge in Paris (exhorbitant price tag), we did go into the famous Casa Rosso for about an hour. The show was quite tasteful, and some routines (involving audience volunteers) were absolutely hilarious. All in all, it was a pretty good night, minus the fact that I'm at an internet terminal at 1:30am simultaneously trying to work out my travel bookings and my course selections (which opened up today). At least I'm booked for the bus tomorrow and can stay half-asleep until I get onto the bus (at which time I'm going to pass out, regardless of how difficult I've found it to sleep on Busabout coaches).

Oh yeah, for obvious reasons, there are no pictures of the red light district. The no photo policy is enforced rather strictly by bouncers, and I have no interest in getting intimate with them.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0837s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb