Fondue, Boats and La Suisse!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Franche-Comté » Besançon
March 26th 2007
Published: March 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My Little SnowmanMy Little SnowmanMy Little Snowman

Here is the snowman I constructed while everyone else took a nature hike through the snow and slush. Very cute. Very minature.
Yesterday was an incredibly tiring day. I think it was the fault of
a) the time change and being shorted one hour of sleep
&
b) actually doing something on a Sunday. Sundays are usually reserved for lying in bed and putting off homework.

But yesterday I did stuff. I saw stuff. I made use of my day! My entire group traveled to the area of haut doubs, which is about an hour and a half from Besancon. First stop was an ancient castle. Unfotunately, this ancient castle truly was ancient and therefore had no central heating. As it figures, I decided to leave my boots at home and wear my converse; this was an incredibly bad decisions because my feet proceeded to be wet and cold for about 3/4 of the day. I'm surprised I'm not dead from pneumonia.

The next and best part of the day was lunch where I had my first fondue experience... and it was good. I learned the art of the swirl and twist motion that prevents the cheese from stringing onto other peoples' wine glasses (not that that happened or anything, ok?). Luckily, UNL footed the bill, so I enjoyed a
Our Little FamilyOur Little FamilyOur Little Family

Claire's papa, Marie's mama and Heather's duck joined my little snowman.
traditional Franche Comte meal of fondue, sausage and wine for free, kind of.

After lunch we went on a boat ride to Switzerland. Fortunately, La Suisse was across the bridge, so it wasn't a very long ride. But once we crossed the boarder, nature decided to come out of its hiding place. There were trees galore and hillsides with snowy rocks; it was absolutely beautiful!

By the time I got home last night at 6 pm, I was ready to crash. It was a long but worthwhile day, and my brain was used to lazy weekends. So I'm going to make up for it by going to bed early tonight...like now.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Out in the WildernessOut in the Wilderness
Out in the Wilderness

Megan, Me and Heather on our little nature walk.
I Feel Ya, MarieI Feel Ya, Marie
I Feel Ya, Marie

Her face explains it all. The castle was interesting...but not interesting enough to take our minds off of our frozen feet.


Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0804s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb