Life is So Much Better When You're Connected


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Franche-Comté » Besançon
March 16th 2007
Published: March 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

On Our Way to Centre VilleOn Our Way to Centre VilleOn Our Way to Centre Ville

This is the route we take to the Centre Ville. It usually takes us anywhere between 35 to 45 minutes to walk there, which we do almost everyday. Who needs a gym, anyway?
The extent of my internet dependency is sickening. Earlier tonight my internet was dead and I thought I would join it soon after. My usually green skype emblem turned gray, the episode of House that I was enjoying stopped suddenly and I got the message: "No network was detected."

And you know what I did? I about cried. Cried like a spoiled little baby. Because you know, it's not just my hours of surfing the internet that I lost, I felt like I lost connection with everyone, and that is one of the worst feelings in the world. Being thousands miles away from the people you love is hard enough without adding communication problems to the mix. Having the internet in my room makes me feel like I am about 2000 miles closer to everyone than I actually am. It expands my room from an incommunicable box to a place where I can be around people. I can call my mom on skype and hear her voice instantly. I can shoot Sam an email without having to go through the process of going to the centre ville. I can see what my friends are doing with themselves through facebook.
On the BridgeOn the BridgeOn the Bridge

It was a nice day in Beasancon: blue skies, sunglasses, boats.

But obviously I had some good karma coming my way (or an internet technition) because the internet works again, and I am as happy as a lark.

______________________________

In other news:

It has been absolutely beautiful here since I got back from Berlin. 60 degrees and sunny. But it's supposed to go back to the typical Besancon march weather. I'm really dreading the rain and clouds; the sun makes me look forward to the day, especially when I'm in school. It's so nice walking out of the CLA and seeing the bright sun reflecting off the Doubs. I'm so extremely excited for spring here. Supposedly, Besancon is the "greenest city in France." When I read that I laughed because it was gloomy and the trees were all sticks and death. But things are beginning to bloom here now, and when I look at the hills by the citadell, I can imagine that Besancon IS the greenest city in France.

I'm exicted to explore other parts of France in the next month or so. Next weekend my group is heading to haut doubs for a little trip. Then comes my 20-day april break. I cannot wait for
Walking to School.Walking to School.Walking to School.

We take a 40 minute walk to school everyday. It's nice to get some fresh air in the morning before being stuck inside for school all day. Unforunately, the weather has taken a turn for the worse and I'll have to start using the bus again. Ugh.
that. My parents are coming and so is Nicholas. We'll being going to Paris, Normandy and then to Besancon, so they'll get to see some pretty interesting places. But the France trip that I am looking forward to the most is my trip with the girls down to the south of France. We're staying in a house in Argelès sur Mer for five days. It's right on the boarder of Spain and it's directly on the Mediterranean Sea!

Check out the house if you'd like:
http://www.rental-vacation.net/r/FR105098/rent-2.asp?site=3&c=y&sess=298499950

Needless to say, I am very much looking forward to it.

Well, now that I have internet access again, I better take care of a few emails. Until next time...


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

La BouloiLa Bouloi
La Bouloi

This photo is taken from the steps of the dorm where everyone else (besides four of us) lives. You can see the track where I attempt to run every so often.
Group ShotGroup Shot
Group Shot

Out and about for Marie's b-day.


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 11; ; mem: 1mb