Feb 25


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Franche-Comté » Besançon
February 25th 2007
Published: February 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I’m feeling especially nostalgic today. I suppose that can be attributed to the fact that I’ve been sitting my little cruise ship cabin of a room since I woke up, which equates to just about 8 hours. It’s just one of those days where my body will not do what I want it to do. I wanted to go running (well, not really wanted) but my body said no. Instead, I’ve been eating the cookies my mom sent me. I wanted (kinda) to get some homework done, but this time it’s my brain that's saying no. So after exhausting all of the options I had that didn’t involve much physical or mental effort, watching the DaVinci Code (not very good) and almost finishing Memoirs of a Geisha (20 more pages), I decided that it would be a nice change of pace to sift through the library of photos that is taking up 3 GB of computer space.

It was nice to see my friends and family even if they were two-dimensional. It was nice looking back those people, but I found myself looking more at the surroundings than the actual people at some points. I don’t want to forget what my dorm room looked like. I don’t want to forget Lindsay’s Central City cabin. And sometimes when I'm sitting here in my room, I do forget what the things at home look like.

I think nostalgia can be a dangerous thing when you’re thousands of miles away from home. It takes me out of the present and then I forget that I’m experiencing something completely new, even if it is just sitting my room all day. And the fact of the matter is that I have a lot here that I will be nostalgic for soon enough. The grass is always greener, you know?

Right now I’d love to feel overwhelmed by my homework or swamped with an upcoming story that’s due. But seven months from now when I’m back in the swing of things at UNL, I know without a doubt that I will be longing to be back in France where life takes its time.


Advertisement



28th February 2007

You aren't missing anything here in Lincoln. Cold, brown snow along the streets. Although, I happened to be driving down 17th street yesterday and there was a banner draped across your old dorm building it said. Where's Waldo? Waldo was crossed out and LIZ was underneath it! Thos GDI's funny aren't they.

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb