Travel day and an unexpected difficulty....


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Franche-Comté » Belfort
August 5th 2008
Published: August 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today was a Travel day for me. I listed as being in Belfort in the Franche-Comte region, however most of the day I was on a train in 3 different countries.

I started the day bright and early when I woke up at 5:30 am and left Joscha's house for the train station.

Saying goodbye was really difficult for me. Joscha and I cried for about 45 minutes each remembering all the good times we had over the past 4 days.....

NOT

We're MEN! Men don't cry.

In all seriousness, I was sad to be leaving Joscha, but I was happy to start the next day on my Journey on my way to France! I took a train at about 6:30 and didn't get off again until 1:45. During that time I slept, ate some snacks Joscha's mother packed me and put a big dent into the reading of Catch 22.

This book I swear is one of the best I have ever read. It's so funny, serious, and meaningful all at the same time. I've read it before, but It makes a lot more sense (as much sense as this book can make) now that I am older.

Anyways about 1:45 I changed trains (and countries) in Basal Switzerland. Basal is right on the border of Switzerland and France, so I simply walked from one side of the station to another and I was in another country. It reminded me of when I was little and insisted that it was impossible to be in another state just by crossing the river to Indiana. I'm guessing I was about 4.

Before I entered Switzerland however, armed border security made their way through the rail car checking everyones passports making everything was in order. They searched the bag of the person sitting a couple seats away for forbidden items, and I thought they would do the same to me as well.

I simply gave them my passport, they asked me if I was traveling alone, where I was going, and was that my bag in the overhead compartment. I answered their questions, they smiled and they were on their way. My only real encounter with anyone from Switzerland, I have decided that there must be some really nice people there. I shall visit this country extensively one day. More than 15 minutes in a train station.

After I got onto the train from Basel I arrived in a city called Mulhouse in France. My train change here was less than 10 miniutes so I had to be quick otherwise I would miss it and be stuck there.

I searched frantically for the Regional express that did not exist on the 6 tracks in the Mulhouse Gare (train station). I asked a man with my 1337(leet or amazing in computer speak) French speaking abilities where the train was.

He told me to go talk to another man and so I hurriedly did so. The man told me(in english) that the train was broken and not running today in between Mulhouse and my next destination Belfort. He said that they might "make a bus" to take the passangers to Belfort.

Already I was just like well "Merde, the trains broke, I have a TGV connection in 1 hour in Belfort to Dijon I'm going to be late, and I have no way of informing Flore (Taylors amazing exchange student from last year) that I am going to be late."

I waited outside the office along with another big group of people until they came over the intercom and told us that a bus would pick us up out front. I followed the people to the Front of the Gare and talked to a big group of guys my own age.

It was the First real conversation I had in that country, and I tell you everything I said was pure gibberish. French mixed with German and a little bit of English. I was so embarrassed. I explained to the boys that my French and they told me "C'est pas grave" meaning:it's not bad. They were nice guys.


Anyways its about 15:25 or 3:25 by now. I was supposed to pick up my connection in Belfort at 15:52. I really didn't think that was going to happen. On the way to Belfort we had to stop at EVERY station in between Mulhouse and Belfort. Now the train ride said that the journey in between took about 30 minutes, however the journey in between on the bus took over an hour.

I really had to piss at his point and I could feel the hunger grumbling in my stomach. I used to ride to hack further towards the end of Catch 22 all the while suppressing my urge to send a torrent of urine towards the front of the bus.

I made it to Belfort and stood in line at the ticket counter to figure out when another train to Dijon would leave. I stood in line for about twenty minutes until I finally got to a pleasant looking French woman with a warm smile. I explained to her that the Train broke down in Mulhouse and I had missed the train for Dijon. She said, "oui, deux miniutes" I misheard her and replied "dix miniutes" "non, DEUX" she repeated with emphasis.

Two minutes to get to the train that left for Dijon... o crap I thought to myself. "De Quel Quai" (What Platform) I shouted to her as I ran towards the tracks. "Cinq"she hollered back. I ran like the wind, bullseye and made it to the train just as the conductor was blowing the whistle for the train to leave. I must say I thought my heart was going to jump out of my chest. I had to wait to use the restroom until the train moved away from the station and I must say it was one of the most wonderful relieving of bladders I have ever experienced.

I read more of Catch-22 on my 2 hour ride into Dijon. Once I had arrived at the train station I searched for Flore. I had previously sent here a myspace message giving her my time of arrival to be around 6. It was 7:30 and I was upset that without a cell phone I could not inform Flore of my late arrival. As I walked towards the exit, I encountered Flore who had apparently just gotten there. After a confusing conversation which consisted of me speaking the limited German I know mingled with French I realized I was not getting anywhere and remembered the change of country.

We found Flores mom, loaded my bag in the back of their car and made our way towards Flores home.

Flores home (I hope to upload some pictures soon) is amazing. The garden along the side of the house is beautiful. There is a foldable pingpong table (a sight I have seen in every home I have stayed in on this continent) a table for dinner, and plenty of pretty flowers and grass. Its absolutely charming. Flore's room is on the top floor along with her sister Fanny's room where I am staying.

We figured out my WiFi connection, spoke French, and ate dinner. After I stopped replying to simple questions with German, and started in a real conversation at Dinner, Flore told me that my French had improved greatly. I really don't think that my French has improved all that much but I feel as if I am more daring and confident in speaking because I am not as Shy as I was last time I visited this country. I am willing to speak French with Flore and her mother and if I do not know a word or the correct pronunciation they help me. It's wonderful to have someone gently correct me. I am learning so much right now and I am so happy to be back in France. Tomorrow Flore says that we will go to the pool with Laura and others. I am so excited. Now I must go to bed however, because I have been traveling for most of the day.





Advertisement



6th August 2008

Hey Bobby - sounds like your having a great adventure! I'm proud of you for having the guts to take this trip. Have a great time, be safe. Look forward to seeing you when you get home. Mr. G
7th August 2008

Hi !
Nice one :). Especially i liked the part when you said '' I had to wait to use the restroom until the train moved away from the station and I must say it was one of the most wonderful relieving of bladders I have ever experienced.'' Anyway, despite the disorderedness and confusion, it sounds like your trip turned out well :)

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb