Another long overdue shout from the edge!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Corsica
December 7th 2008
Published: December 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Beach In SardinaBeach In SardinaBeach In Sardina

Looking from STG across the straight to Bonifacio
I’ve come to the realization I’m really not a very good blogger. After all the whole idea behind bloging is to produce quick, relevant, little personal insights or observations and I think the expected thought to online blog publication time standard is essentially “real-time”. I’m sitting Arusha Tanzania as write this right now and I’m afraid the last two sentences, and this one, and maybe the next few, are the first sentences I will be blogging that meet this defacto time standard. I’d feel guilty about this, but F it- I’m on holiday. So here I will not try and catch you all up on the last 47 days!

After Greece I flew Milan for a few days and then to Sardinia where I did a couple of days of diving off the coast of Gallura which lies at the northern tip of the island just across the straight of Bonifacio from Corsica. The diving was excellent, water visibility above 100ft and the water was not too cold. On day two I was able to do my first wreck dive on a 130M ship that had sank in 20-22M of water 30 years ago. The ship had been split in three parts after it sank by salvage crews in order to remove the toxic cargo. So even though much of it silted in now, there’s still excellent access into much of the wreck. We were able to swim through stairways and into rooms even up into the bridge which is now listing 30 degrees to port and half buried.

It’s was off season though and the town was practically deserted so after two days I took the ferry over to the town of Bonifacio in Corsica hoping for a little more action. Besides that, Sopie, a very good friend of Al and Sharon’s from their days in Grenoble, was competing in the Circ de Corsica, an around the island sailboat race, and was due to arrive in Bonifacio at the finish of the race a couple of days. So as I was planning to meet up with her I thought I just head over early and try my luck at diving on the other side of the straight.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Bonifacio harbourBonifacio harbour
Bonifacio harbour

Racers arriving after the Circ du Corse


Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0896s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb