Chateau De Clocheville


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Centre » Tours
March 18th 2011
Published: March 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Door From the StreetDoor From the StreetDoor From the Street

It looks like a lot of the other doors on the street and would be easy to miss if you didnt know right where it was. I may have missed it a couple of times in the first week.
The name of my street is Clocheville. It is located very near the heart of old town Tours and there is very rarely a parking spot within three blocks. When I first arrived i had the choice between two places, neither one of which seemed at first glance to be very homey. The difference between the two was simple; the first choice was older, more rustic, and lacked conveniences like a shower or a washing machine; while the second choice was compact, sterile, and had everything to make life easy. The more rustic of the two was within walking distance to most of the interesting things in the city and it had a familiar smell that seemed to be like an old friend welcoming me in. Maybe it was the bigger kitchen or maybe just the familiar smell but I figured it was only going to be a few month so I chose the more rustic of the two Who needs to shower anyway.
I'm unsure of the history of the building but I know it is a very old place. That smell that is hard to describe but seems like stale cement is one I have only come across in
ClochevilleClochevilleClocheville

Can you find my door? Of course the one time i take a picture there are a million parking spaces on the street. It rarely looks like this.
Europe, and only a few times. First I remember the smell most distinctly from visiting my Oma in Germany when I was in the fifth grade. Its not a bad smell or one that is even very strong its simply a very distinct odor of aging, cold cement. The second time I came across this aroma was when I first played volleyball over seas in Switzerland. There too the building was very old and very often frost bitten on the outside. So here I am again with an old acquaintance and things have been going very well.
I spend most of my time in the kitchen listening to the radio while I cook or clean. In the evenings after dinner I generally retire to the living room where I will watch a movie or catch up on some correspondence. When I'm finished there and I've lost all my coordination to tiredness I then have to carefully navigate my way up the steepest staircase in history. One more degree vertical and I think it would technically be classified as a ladder(as of today, no accidents......yet). Once upstairs my bedroom awaits with its 100 year old wood beams and slanted ceilings. I
Cool KeyCool KeyCool Key

After I've found parking and the correct door the biggest key I've ever been given has to be used. Also there is a cool door knocker whom I have yet to name.
brush my teeth in front of a mirror that is at eye level for Napoleon and empty my bladder almost always hitting my head on the slanted ceiling. When I finally curl up under the 200 pound beam I am serenaded to sleep by the sound of running water as the heating system makes sure I dont freeze to death during the night.
My small house has slowly become my home and as comforting as the smell was when I first arrived I dont even notice it any more. More evidence that Chateau De Clocheville is now, at least temporarily, home. Thats all for now.






Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

My Chateaux My Chateaux
My Chateaux

From the outside little courtyard this is the front of my home.
KitchenKitchen
Kitchen

This is where I spend most of my time. Makes me appreciate having a dishwasher.
My RoutineMy Routine
My Routine

I figured I should be in a couple shots. In this totally natural and unposed picture I am cooking one of my many meals.
Everyday SaladEveryday Salad
Everyday Salad

One of the things I make pretty much every day. Im not sure when this became one of my favorite things but I look forward to it after my evening practice.
View From the TableView From the Table
View From the Table

I think I'm pretty lucky to have a nice little courtyard to look out on while I eat. Sometimes it dosent even feel like I'm in the middle of a city.
Evening MovieEvening Movie
Evening Movie

Another unposed picture. This time of me enjoying my evening movie before bedtime.
Staricase/LadderStaricase/Ladder
Staricase/Ladder

This photo does not do it justice but trust me, one wrong step and things could get very interesting.
BedroomBedroom
Bedroom

It took some getting used to but now the old beams above my bed are strangely comforting.
Actual SizeActual Size
Actual Size

Yes they are both very small. Luckily the club has a nice shower which I use all the time.
Floss, Brush, Rinse, peek-a-booFloss, Brush, Rinse, peek-a-boo
Floss, Brush, Rinse, peek-a-boo

the camera is at my eye level looking down on the the sink. Makes things entertaining


18th March 2011

love the blog
Love reading about your travels. Save them and write a book someday! Ah, the city of Tours, the city of St Martin, the city where Martel stopped the onslaught of the Sarecens, the favorite resting place of French Kings...
27th March 2011

Love getting your blogs
Seeing where you and your new teammates excel at volleyball, hearing about your feelings and adventures, and seeing where you live is such fun. Sounds like you are doing GREAT with everything. Good job, you! Keep sending those blogs.
24th April 2011

Really good idea having a blog about your travels thru the world, it is nice having an outside point of view on our city. Even if this apartment isn't the most convenient when being as tall as you are, it's really a nice place to be (instead for finding a place to park your car... I hate having to find a place to park close the street you live, it's so much irritating), close to the very heart of the city.. You're really lucky having a courtyard, places like this being rare! Hope you had, and will have, some time to discover our nice city of Tours and the region, there are so much things to do and discover there! See ya during the next home match! Séverine
29th April 2011

well shoot. i cant wait to see this place in person!
Other then the fact there isn't really a shower, this place looks perfect for my vacation get away! Looks like you have an extra couch I could crash on... Ok, so Ill swing by in... Oh, let me see when Im free... How about 20 days? Will you be around? I'd love to grab some coffee! Well just let me know if you are available. No pressure. Talk to you later! sincerely, your future roommate

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb