Signed, Sealed, and delivered


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Centre » Tours
February 22nd 2011
Published: February 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=RZVMZ8BKzb0]
Tours Volleyball ClubTours Volleyball ClubTours Volleyball Club

This is the outside of the facility where we practice and play all our home matches. Its a nice gym but a very old building.
One week ago today my future was very uncertain. I had arrived only a couple days before and was on day number two of a try out. I was still feeling the effects of jet lag and had not fully adjusted to the rich french cuisine. I had been working hard but on the second day of the try out I did not feel like I was playing as well as I should and thoughts of being sent home were starting to creep in through the frustration. In fact to end my second day of training I missed two serves in a row and my side lost. A quick stretch and a long walk to the locker room was followed by an even longer walk back as someone told me the general manager and head coach wanted to have a word. I stood waiting to hear their opinion knowing full well that I had not shown them my best volleyball. When they told me they would like me to sign and they were happy with my hard work and technique, I was more relieved than anything else.
The next three days were a blur of paperwork, apartment hunting, renting a car,
InsideInsideInside

Maximum capacity is about 3,000 fans. they say there are generally about 2,000 to 2,500 every match.
and interviews with local news papers and television stations. While all that was going on I had to be ready to play in a match which would take place on day six of my arrival. Add in the little stresses' like not knowing my way around the city or not having internet for a couple of days, and you can imagine that my first match had a huge possibility for disaster.
The match went well and I discovered that the fans are very passionate about the team and also knowledgable about the sport, they even had a chant going for me when I served(and yes I made them all). The real highlight for me was the final point when I got a stuff block to finish the match. I did not have to do much because the rest of the team is so good but it's always exciting to get the final point.
By the end of the match I must admit most of my emotion was still leaning toward relief more than anything else. It was not until the next morning when I was sitting in my new place sipping a cup of coffee that I began to
Dynasty?Dynasty?Dynasty?

Pretty impressive to be able to play in a place that has had so much success.
get a little excited. Excited because I am in a new place with so much to see and do; excited for learning new things and making new friends. I'm excited because I will soon be in one of the most romantic places ever with the love of my life; Mostly though, I'm excited not because the hard work is finished, but because it's just begun. Thats all for now.

here is a link to the interview from the local TV station. I was put on the spot but it was fun to do.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Some HistorySome History
Some History

In 2005 Tours won the Champions league. Thats the tournament for all the best clubs around Europe.
Trophy CaseTrophy Case
Trophy Case

I know that here they do not give trophies away for everything so each of the ones in this case show how successful the club has been over the years.
TrophyTrophy
Trophy

This is the Trophy from winning Champions League.
InterviewInterview
Interview

I was interviewed by a few papers and a local TV station. I got the feeling everyone was pretty skeptical about me but the fans and everybody have welcomed me like family.
Standard IssueStandard Issue
Standard Issue

There is something special and exciting anytime you get issued a jersey. Its even better when they spell your name right.


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 6; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb