Day 10


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Strasbourg
May 31st 2009
Published: June 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

We went to the Alsatian Wine Region today!!! But our 1st stop was the Haut-Koenigsbourg Castle where Wilhelm the second ruled. The castle was packed with tourists!!! It was really interesting getting an inside view of what life must have been like in the 12th century. The furniture was amazing to me for the time period it was built in. A strange thing that I saw in the tavern, a cat walked down a beam from the ceiling and then proceed to jump on a groups table (where they were eating lunch!) and sat there for a minute then jumped down. It kinda grossed me out to see that 😞 After the castle we stopped in a little village on the "Route des vins" for us to have lunch. Cat and I found a little sandwhich shop and ate on a park bench. When we got to Riquewihr we toured the town. Then we went and toured the winery "Zimmer". The wine is stored in the oak barrels for approximatley 9 months before bottled. We tried 4 different wines at our tasting. A sparkling wine, riesling, pinot nior, .....ahhh I cannot remember the last one. I was very surprised because usually I am not a wine fan but I ended up liking all 4 of them. I bought a bottle of the sparking and the riesling to take home. The one I liked best was the riesling. I learned that when you drink wine you want to roll it around on your tounge and take in air to release the flavors, which I had never known. After the tasting we had an Alsatian tart flambee dinner. A flambee is like a very thing crust pizza. They brought out 4 dinner types of flambee, one after another. The last one we had was a dessert flambee and it had apples and cinnamon on it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb