These are a few of my favourite things


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Strasbourg
January 5th 2008
Published: January 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Alsacian housesAlsacian housesAlsacian houses

These houses give this city so much character.
I guess this one's just for me, really. As the last few hours are slipping away I find myself hanging on tightly to those things that have stood out above everything else here in Strasbourg; favourite restaurants, cafés, beautiful walking spots. In the name of keeping my memories alive I have taken photos of all my favourite places in Strasbourg so as to never forget those small things that captured my heart, and that I will miss more than I could have ever imagined.

It's a strange feeling to know that I will never again be at this desk, writing a blog, looking out my widow to see white Alsacian houses with wooden details and pointed rooves, reminding me that I am far, far away from home. Not for a very long time will I hear those cathedral bells gonging every hour, on the hour; and at quarter past, half past and quarter to the hour! I don't know when I will next be able to walk out onto a crowded street and hear the sounds of the French language floating around in my ears, reassuring me in the fact that now I can understand those noises that were once
Gallia Tram StopGallia Tram StopGallia Tram Stop

This was the place JB and I first met - the girls and I had organised to meet a new friend, Mathius, here one night back in February, and Mathius brought along his friend JB. The rest is history...
just babble.

I will miss the cafés, the boulangeries with their beautiful breads and pastries, the amazing cheeses, the fantastically, inexpensive wine. I will miss living amongst such history, living in a building that was built in the Middle Ages, and living in a city that has changed from French to German and back again several times. I will miss living in the centre of the city, knowing that all I have to do is walk downstairs and I'm in the heart of all the action; the shops, the sights, the river, the restaurants. I will miss the fact that I can walk everywhere, and living so close to everyone I know that we can meet up in a matter of minutes. And I will really miss the fact that the rest of Europe is only a stone's throw away, and that I can travel internationally in under an hour.

Sometimes it's hard to know if you've made the right decisions in life, but in this case there's no questioning it. Spending a year in Strasbourg has been the most fantastically amazing experience I've ever had. I don't know if I could ever put into words how incredible
Rue des TonneliersRue des TonneliersRue des Tonneliers

The beautiful street I step out onto each day
this year has been for me. To study in another language, to meet new people, to integrate into another culture. I will never be the same again. Memories like this last a lifetime, and I will always remember my year in Strasbourg as one of the most perfect and exhilarating years I have ever spent. As hard as it is to say goodbye, I know I'll be taking my memories with me.




Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Cobblestone StreetsCobblestone Streets
Cobblestone Streets

I love them so much, providing I'm not wearing heels of course, then they just suck.
Warm ChestnutsWarm Chestnuts
Warm Chestnuts

I don't even eat these, but I love the little vans all around the city in winter and watching people buy the warm chestnuts
Café MontmartreCafé Montmartre
Café Montmartre

Otherwise known to Laura and I as "debrief café", the place we would always go after a big night to go over all the details of everything that happened.
Les frères BurthonLes frères Burthon
Les frères Burthon

A Belgian Beer bar right downstairs from me where we have spent many, many nights!
My swan familyMy swan family
My swan family

The baby swans at Citadelle park that I watched grow from little fluff balls into swans
The Chololate ShopsThe Chololate Shops
The Chololate Shops

This one in particular by the cathedral sold hot chocolate with many different flavours, like chilli, just like the film Chocolat. Mmmmm..
Le BrasseurLe Brasseur
Le Brasseur

So many nights were spent at the brasseur eating tarte flambées!
The VeggieflamThe Veggieflam
The Veggieflam

One of the only Alsacian veggie foods around - and it's delicious!!
Pont CorbeauPont Corbeau
Pont Corbeau

The closest bridge to my house that I must've walked across a thousand times, with the cathedral in sight, knowing I was nearly home.
L'OrangerieL'Orangerie
L'Orangerie

The beautiful park where we spent many a day having picnics, studying, or just basically drinking up the sun (and wine) in the park!
The Parties!!!The Parties!!!
The Parties!!!

The end of 2007 was the end of the year of many, many parties. I don't think I'll ever party like that again in my life!!
My placeMy place
My place

Where I've studied, written my blogs, and spent much time just being at the window enjoying the view.


6th January 2008

More Tears!
Couldn't read this without more tears - just like the last entry. What a great year you have had Susin & so many wonderful memories. Thankyou for sharing it all. I am sure there will be many other long stints in Europe for you but this has definitely been very special. Safe journeying. Love Maa xx
2nd March 2008

beautiful...
Well Ive never really considered France to be place where I would like to go but after reading your travel blog and reading your journal I am definately reconsidering. Beautifully written and I loved the pics Susin! x

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 82; dbt: 0.0805s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb