Spreading My Wings


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Uusimaa » Helsinki
October 1st 1994
Published: April 20th 2016
Edit Blog Post

My First FlightMy First FlightMy First Flight

Ronneby Airport, Ronneby
Hello my fellow travelers!

This is the first and only post I'll do about a trip to Finland in October 1994 that I did together with my parents and my uncle Roland and his wife Marie. It was the first time I stepped on a plane and even if it was only a domestic flight of less than an hour between Ronneby and Stockholm I was still very excited.

When we arrived in Stockholm we boarded the cruise ship M/S Cinderella, belonging to the Viking Line. It was a grand ship and an interesting experience, I remember buying a lego version of it and assembling it when I returned home. I also recall seeing the slot machines as well as all the drunk people that usually take this ship.

As we arrived in Helsinki we took a tour out to the Suomenlinna, a massive sea fortress formerly known as Sveaborg, and the submarine Vesikko which is anchored nearby as a museum ship since 1973.

In the harbor was several grand ships like our own M/S Cinderella at anchor and I was very excited at it all since I was a big maritime lover back then. There was
VesikkoVesikkoVesikko

Suomenlinna, Helsinki
the iconic M/S Kristina Regina of Kristina Cruises, the massive M/S Sally Albatross of Sally Cruise and the beautiful M/S Silja Symphony of Silja Lines.

After our little tour out to the fortress and the Vesikko we explored Helsinki. We saw, amongst other things, the Helsinki Central Railway Station and the large shopping mall of Stockmann. Outside of Stockmann stands the Three Smiths Statue depicting, as the name implies, three smiths (although the name does not reflect their lack of clothing).

During our exploration we also encountered the Presidential Palace Guards parading through the city. As I wasn't only a maritime lover but also a military enthusiast I remember that I was in such an awe of them.

We made our way to the oldest part of central Helsinki, the Senate Square, where we could see the gorgeous Helsinki Cathedral, the Government Palace, the main building of Helsinki University, the Sederholm House and a Statue of Alexander II of Russia.

The Senate Square have long been the center of power in Finland and even today the beautiful Government Palace is the seat of the Prime Minister. The square and all the buildings surrounding it was planned
Group PhotoGroup PhotoGroup Photo

Stockmann, Helsinki
and constructed by Carl Ludvig Engel during the 19th century and it's a true landmark in Helsinki.

After our visit to Helsinki we boarded our cruise ship again and returned to Stockholm where we took the flight back home in Blekinge.

Until next time I wish you all peace and happy travels!


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Awaiting My First FlightAwaiting My First Flight
Awaiting My First Flight

Ronneby Airport, Ronneby
M/S CinderellaM/S Cinderella
M/S Cinderella

Helsinki Cruise Port, Helsinki
M/S Sally AlbatrossM/S Sally Albatross
M/S Sally Albatross

Helsinki Cruise Port, Helsinki
M/S Silja SymphonyM/S Silja Symphony
M/S Silja Symphony

Helsinki Cruise Port, Helsinki
Small Sailing ShipSmall Sailing Ship
Small Sailing Ship

Helsinki Cruise Port, Helsinki
M/S Kristina ReginaM/S Kristina Regina
M/S Kristina Regina

Helsinki Cruise Port, Helsinki
Roland and MeRoland and Me
Roland and Me

Helsinki Central Railway Station, Helsinki
Three Smiths StatueThree Smiths Statue
Three Smiths Statue

Stockmann, Helsinki
Statue of Alexander II of RussiaStatue of Alexander II of Russia
Statue of Alexander II of Russia

Senate's Square, Helsinki
Beautiful FacadeBeautiful Facade
Beautiful Facade

Helsinki Cathedral, Helsinki
Beautiful FacadeBeautiful Facade
Beautiful Facade

Helsinki Cathedral, Helsinki
OrganOrgan
Organ

Helsinki Cathedral, Helsinki
ChandelierChandelier
Chandelier

Helsinki Cathedral, Helsinki
AltarAltar
Altar

Helsinki Cathedral, Helsinki
View of the Senate SquareView of the Senate Square
View of the Senate Square

Helsinki Cathedral, Helsinki


20th April 2016
My First Flight

First Flight
How it all began. A Small Swede in a Big World. The smile says it all...a young Per-Olof has to start kicking goals somewhere. Now he can't stop!!!
20th April 2016
My First Flight

First Flight
Sure can't! I'm completely hooked now! :)
21st April 2016

I'm delighted that you are blogging you past travels...
doing so brings back so many wonderful memories!
22nd April 2016

I'm delighted that you are blogging you past travels...
I'm happy to hear so my friend! :D

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb