One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest


Advertisement
Published: April 16th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Eschle's KaufladenEschle's KaufladenEschle's Kaufladen

Schönwald im Schwarzwald
Hello my fellow travelers!

This is the first and only post I'll make about a trip to Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Luxembourg and Liechtenstein in July 1992 that I did together with my Parents, my uncle Roland and his wife Marie, my aunt Marianne, her husband Sven and their daughter Jenny.

Despite travelling through five countries I only have two locations from which I have identifiable photos. The first of these is Schönwald im Schwarzwald which is a small town located in the south of Germany. There isn't much of note in this town as far as I can remember, except for the general plethora of delicious steakhouses of course. It is however the birthplace of the cuckoo clock which was invented by Franz Ketterer in 1730.

I have very few memories of this place, mainly I remember eating some impressive schnitzelpfanne which is basically a schnitzel the size of a frying pan. I remember that it was delicious and I certainly enjoyed that part of this trip. I also remember Sven being able to eat and drink any respectable restaurant empty, that man is bottomless!

The second location of this trip which identifiable pictures survive from is Mainau which is a small island located in Lake Constance, on the border between Germany, Switzerland and Liechtenstein.

This island has changed owner several times during history, from the Teutonic Knights to German Dukes to Swedish Royalty.

I do remember walking amongst the gorgeous blossom animals in amazement of such wonders. On the island is the beautiful Mainau Castle which was completed in 1746, it has served as a summer palace for nobility ever since and is still the current residence of the Swedish royal family on their visits.

Until next time I wish you all peace and happy travels!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Group PhotoGroup Photo
Group Photo

Schönwald im Schwarzwald
Street ViewStreet View
Street View

Schönwald im Schwarzwald
PheasantPheasant
Pheasant

Mainau
PheasantPheasant
Pheasant

Mainau
DonkeysDonkeys
Donkeys

Mainau


16th April 2016

It's great to see you posting pictures...
of your travels earlier in your life!
17th April 2016

It's great to see you posting pictures...
Thank you, I decided to start from the begining and get my first trips up on TB =)
16th April 2016

It's great to see you posting blog...
of your travels earlier in your life!
17th April 2016

It's great to see you posting blog..
Thank you, I decided to start from the beginning and get my first trips up on TB =)

Tot: 0.268s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 29; qc: 181; dbt: 0.1323s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.7mb