Helsinki


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Uusimaa » Helsinki
June 29th 2013
Published: August 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Two long layovers in Helsinki. First layover was about 8 hours, from early in the morning until late afternoon. It was actually the perfect amount of time. We caught a bus downtown, grabbed some coffee and pastry at a cute little cafe on the Esplanadi. Then over to the market by the sea. It was a smaller market, but they were selling some unusual things. Lots of furs. I keep saying that I think I could be a member of PETA because I hate the idea of killing animals, but I also keep discovering that I really like some horrible things.... like fur and foie gras. I didn't end up buying any fur, but I REALLY wanted to. It was so beautiful! Also, lots of reindeer stuff for sale. Oh yes, and everyone is BEAUTIFUL! Seriously, all blond hair, blue eyes, perfect skin and beautiful. Jealous. Anyway, a little more walking to a couple of cathedrals. All of the tourist sights are pretty close together, so it was easy to get around.

On the way back home, we had another long(12 hr) layover. This one started at 2am. When we landed, it was still light outside. Very crazy! My father says I've seen this before in Canada, but I don't remember it. I loved that it never really got dark, but I'm sure I would hate the winter, when it is almost always dark... and cold. Even in the middle of the summer, it was pretty chilly. We found the best little spot to sleep in the airport. Nice bench, quiet dark corner, outlets. Great spot! In the morning we took the bus back downtown, cafe and pastry again... Andrew was in love with these blueberry crumble type pastries they had, market, and back for our flight home. 😞


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb