desperate last min airport update - Helsinki 12 Sept.


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Uusimaa » Helsinki
September 12th 2009
Published: September 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Helsinki - Vantaa airport 4pm Sat. 12 Sept.

the man must be desperate to use a wee fee conn. wherever he can! - there is naturally a wee fee conn. at Vantaa - or a couple of them to choose from. So a quick wee update. I obviously got to Tegel OK - a bit late last night after doing me laundry first. I just had to check whether I had done the Vini e Libri culinary update - which I obviously did last night so no need to overdo it (like he has been the whole trip some people might mutter....).

Did not sleep very well - and late - and the crazy Jap guy (thee is always one) fell asleep with the light over his bed on hours before - an I could not see the switch to turn it off. Anyway up at 8.45am - had worked out last night where the Tegel TXL bus went form near Alexanderplatz - which took some doing - only after some direction did I find it - plenty of trams raoming around there but seemed no spot for buses, despite the usually bloody confusing German signs indicating one directio or another. Managed to get down there on the U-bahn for 1.3E then bought another 2.10E tik for the bus to the airport - which in shame for Gemran efficieiency was about 5 mins late! I had asked the tour guide what sort of checkin for Euroean connections - he said 1 - 1 ½ hrs normally ok - not problem at al - other than description SBY (standby) on ticket concerned me somewhat. She said this was cos they oversell the plane - oh great - send my bag to Narita and I may not get on it! - got a seat allocation at gate - 5C so at least right up the front - no view but I can handle that as tried for a bit of shuteye as 1h45m flight to Helsinki. At Helsinki told the same thing re set allocation altho I had “reserved” seat 23A a window for some view when I booked the ticket in Sydney. Mind you a 9h20m flight to Tokyo - leaving here at 17.20 and arriving into Tokyo at 0900 local might be a bit of a challenge sleep wise. At least from Tokyo I will eat at airport like last time some decent Japanese food rather than the rubbish Qantas give you and plug in the ears and try to sleep straight away - or something.

just to prove I have been to Tegel and Vantaa airports snaps attached and Finnish airport shops - where everything is hellish expensive to say the least!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Helsinki - airport Mumo shopHelsinki - airport Mumo shop
Helsinki - airport Mumo shop

a famous blobby Finnish cartoon character


Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0987s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb