blogging from the tatami?!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Yanaka
September 13th 2009
Published: September 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

12.45pm Sunday 13 Sept. - the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan - Yanaka

not a place you will find on the average tourist map I am sure. the disadvantage of tatami rooms is of course as it is all mat there are no chairs! - so am sitting leaning against the wall. I found this one cos it was listed along with half a dozen others in Tokyo in a Japanese Inn Group book I found at the airport this morning on arrival from Berlin-Helsinki- there were also some flyers for a couple of the others and they were all around 6000yen or so (think just under $80 - which is pretty reasonable for Tokyo). I was thinking of going to the one I found at Ueno last time (if its still there) after an expensive night in a "real" hotel - then found a hole in the wall (not a capsule!) down the street for half the price. As I am only here for one night a night on tatami will do, for the experience. Last time I did it was in an alpine resort on Hokkaido in 2005 and it was not very comfortable for sleeping - although the dinner
Tokyo - Katsutaro RyokanTokyo - Katsutaro RyokanTokyo - Katsutaro Ryokan

shown with Suica stored value card for JR (Fuji pic) and 7-11's as well - NEX ticket
on a tray of all the food groups imaginable was excellent.

This was relatively easy to locate so I will likely get the train to the airport from Nippori station- which is where I hopped off the Yamanote line from Tokyo station. Its in a very "neighbourhood" neighbourhood - Tokyo can be such a grown up village, but areas such as this are still the original village, with a dinky "main" street with tiny shops etc - all I love about Japan. Having a cup of green tea - the internet is wired (little wee fee 'ere) and seems pretty damn fast - will have a refreshing shower then out and see what I can see before meeting up with Clive Wright - former (or on leave) Chief Dental Officer for NSW Health - with his wife tonight for dinner near Ueno. He commented on the imploding NSW Govt, as he is going back next week - I only found out a few days ago (after that comment) about the Della Bosca sex scandal - it always seems to happen - I go on leave and we get a new premier (last time In NZ) or my minister falls
Tokyo - Katsutaro RyokanTokyo - Katsutaro RyokanTokyo - Katsutaro Ryokan

yakata with obe/belt thingy
on his sword (this time) - I always miss out being around.

snaps of the room attached just to fill the space -as I say - cos I can! Desperate blogger - you will be home in 48 hrs or less! leave it alone (have you seen the series of sketches by Tracey Ullman about the blogger who updates her blog then goes to sleep with her laptop (me, not quite yet!)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb