At least I got some new clothes


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Uusimaa » Helsinki
October 6th 2008
Published: October 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Heading through south Finland to check out the two main citys Tampere and Helsinki when disaster broke! But got to do some shopping out of it in the end so not to bad. Doing my washing in Tampere one night and hanging out all my clothes and I mean the lot except for a pair of shorts, shirt, undies and socks that I was wearing only to find the rest gone the very next morning. Not really good at all but at least in Helsinki i got to see all the shops there I guess. But who would want some old backpacking persons clothes anyway...

Anyway Tampere was more partying the first night there and sightseeing the next day excetp for the people that I meet with asked if I wanted to go for beers in the afternoon, on a Thusday of course as they do all the time! But still had a good look around the city, not a really big place at all but loads of fun. It used to be a massive manufacturing centre and there are dozens of red brick chimneys heading skyward but now most have been converted into shopping centres, bars or resturants. On eather side of the city there is two lakes that go as far as the eye can see so the city seems to be on water like most cotys in Finland it seems.

Helsinki was all about shopping for me mostly, needed to get some clothes quick since walking around in shorts and shirt when it is heading into winter is not good. So after a few hours I think that I had sorted myself out mosty. Really in Helsinki I didn't do that much sightseeing and was very lazy there for the three nights except when heading out and trying to find a place to watch the AFL grand final. It was shown live in a pub I founf but that means it was 7.30am in the morning and starting drinking at that hour means disaster exp when there is a buch of other Aussie lads all there for same thing. So Satuday was pretty much a right off and Sunday morning as well. I did get to see the two main churches there and one was the first Russian decorated I have seen and it was beautiful, massive with the cool looking round things on top and th inside was really well decorated.. Stupid me though didn't go to any museums there, I was to tired and hungovere and thought that I will just look at things and not take it in anyway so no real point. And yes now it is getting very cold over here in Finland but heading south more now over to the Baltic countries to see if I can get some more warmth..


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

TampereTampere
Tampere

Local food just in Tampere, sausage just of blood..


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb