Walled city and chocolate


Advertisement
Estonia's flag
Europe » Estonia » Tallinn
October 9th 2008
Published: October 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Into the Baltic Countries now and getting of the ferry from Helsinki I arrived in Tallinn with the famous only surviving walled old town in this area. It really is an amazing place to wander through and feels like you have taken a step back in time when first arriving walking through the enterance of the wall into all the old buildings that you will find.

There is plenty to see when wandering around and a good few days is needed to explore just the old city which is not that big at all but on the outskirts of the city there are plenty more to see. I went and checked out the Art Museum that just got voted the best in Europe 08 and the open air museum north of the city on the coast would have to be my favourite by far. It is as it was 200-400 years ago when people were living in the area, the houses were exactly the same and the people who lived and worked there had the old clothing and was good to see how they got about there daily lives in Estonia.

Has anyone tried Estonian chocolate? My god it is good! And cheap! Glad to get out of the Scandivanian countries and start spending less money when getting around, food and of course drinks.. But the chocolate is really good and that is what I was pretty much eating the whole time I was there. For the drinking, didn’t head out at all but my host and I went to a friends place and she had nine different types of Estonian spirits ranging from 20% to 60% so that really made a mess of thing exp when it was a shot each time, plus a bottle of Aus wine I found in the supermarket there, made for a fun night from what I remember.

Other things that I got up to, fined once again for not putting my ticket thing in some box on a bus, how is anyone supposed to know about these things I have know idea! Went swimming in the Baltic sea again which is just a freezing as on the Sweden side, watched the Batman movie finally and that is awsome and snuck into the Radisson hotel and went to the roof top for the views (I got told they are really good from
TallinnTallinnTallinn

A lot of drinking ahead
there and really was).

So next stop, Latvia..



Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

TallinnTallinn
Tallinn

Does this tree look like it has a face?? Walking along and spoted it.. Made her give it a kiss


Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 27; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0849s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb