TKK or TKO?


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Uusimaa » Helsinki
February 10th 2007
Published: February 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sunrise over the seaSunrise over the seaSunrise over the sea

Was late for class to enjoy this sunrise. I think it was worth it.
Hey everyone, I know I missed writing last weekend, I was just so busy for the past couple weeks that I didn't have time to do much besides school. We had a deadline for our big project on Wednesday night. We all submitted a design and the professors will choose over the weekend which project will be chosen to be built at 1:1 scale by the whole group. The pavilion will on display at the Waino Aaltonen museum in Turku for several months starting May 24. We will find out on Monday whose design was chosen. Anyway, I have been busy doing that, designing a sauna, going on excursions, and doing reading and research.

Last weekend I didn't get to do a lot of sightseeing but the weather was quite warm so I went for a long walk on Saturday. I went from my house to the sea and walked along the shore for about 8km until I reached the shopping centre where I could get groceries and take the bus home. By this time it was getting cold and dark. The walk was beautiful and I saw some interesting houses along the way. The houses were all so different from one another, so distinct. I also discovered that there are paths on the ice where you can ski and skate although I have not found a place to rent equipment yet. I will hopefully get to this soon. I found the "swimming hall" today and went swimming with some friends. We are going to make this a weekly activity every Wednesday morning.

I was invited to two parties Friday night, one hosted by the Finnish-Japanese society, and one hosted by two Dutch friends. My friend Katherine (from New York) and I went to the Japanese party first where we ate sushi and other Japanese delights. We also played Jenga and watched people playing the new Nintendo system 'Wii' which is more interactive than the old systems. We had to duck out to make it to the Dutch party just in time for pea soup and apple pie. It was very good, and very filling. I will try to hold a Canadian party in the spring but I'm having trouble coming up with traditional Canadian dishes to make... any suggestions would be appreciated.

Let's see... what else have I done... I went to see Swan Lake at the Opera house on Thursday night. It was a beautiful ballet. The music was incredible as was the dancing. I would like to see it done by a russian company some day to see the different interpretations.

Well, I think that's about all I've been up to. I will be going to a cabin on a lake next weekend for a party for architecture students. The cabin is owned by the architecture guild and they organize trips there every couple of months. It will be a good chance to have a real traditional finnish smoke sauna. I'll let you know the results! Ok, hope to have some new pictures up next weekend for you, I'll try my best. P.S. I hope you're enjoying the -40 weather in TBay while I'm living it up in the sweltering -20!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Espoo housesEspoo houses
Espoo houses

wow, nice windows!
Espoo houses IIEspoo houses II
Espoo houses II

more nice windows
Espoo houses IIIEspoo houses III
Espoo houses III

hmm... where did this one come from, California?
Espoo houses IVEspoo houses IV
Espoo houses IV

I guess it kind of makes sense... it's on the water, it's white to reflect the sun... a lot of windows for such a cold climate though... brrr.
FMO Finnforest buildingFMO Finnforest building
FMO Finnforest building

Highly advanced use of wood... also very very expensive.


18th February 2007

Keep up the Great Work
Hi Jess, Heard you won the opportunity to have your pavillion built - I am so proud of you! Your efforts to get these photos and share them with us is absolutely wonderful, thank you. (Maybe you could win a contest to make a travel brochure for them also!) Canadian Food, hmmm, lets see, banneck, blueberry pancakes, guess you have no moose to use..., sally anns, and persians if you want to be very specific about your origin! Cranberries, and a fish fry, and s'mores - just brainstorming here.... come on other readers - help Jess out! I put Josh and Gillian on the plane to Florida today, I am thinking they are at least a little warmer than us!

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 7; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb