Finland at last!


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Uusimaa » Helsinki
January 5th 2007
Published: January 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My "bed"My "bed"My "bed"

It is more like a half bed - it's so small! It is also very uncomfortable.
I have finally arrived in Finland!!! I actually have been here for 2 full days now! I have kept myself very busy, hence me not getting this done earlier. I arrived Thursday Evening and was picked up by my Tutor Heli (here a tutor is someone who helps international students around the city and stuff like that) She has ended up becoming my life savor! She took me to my flat and showed me around a bit. We were going to meet the next day at 9am, in front of my building. I ended up going to bed early that night, it was a long day! I woke up at 9:30 and started to panic! I over slept by a half hour! I ran down stairs a quickly as I could - only to find that no one was there. I went back upstairs and sat on my bed, wondering what I was going to do. At this point I was all alone and I had no way of contacting anyone. I did not have a phone and my internet did not work yet. It was at that point that I realized that it was 9:30 PM - not AM!!! OOPS!
Sandra, Emily and PrancerSandra, Emily and PrancerSandra, Emily and Prancer

No, sorry - it's not a real reindeer.
After that, however, I was paranoid that I would over sleep - so I ended up waking up every hour or so. On top of that - my bed is very uncomfortable! Oh the joys of traveling abroad! Of course some things have to get worse before they get better - let’s just say that I was not feeling 100% the next day.
I was able to get a lot of things done my first day here. Heli and I walked all around Helsinki. We went to my school to register as a student, to housing to sign the lease and get internet connection, to getting a phone for me use here in Finland.
I was also able to meet my roommate that night. Her name is Sandra and she is from Germany. She ended up being a great help to me as well. My connection for my computer started smoking because I had the wrong one. She was able to give me an extra one that she had. She also was able to provide me with a phone cable so I could hock up my internet. Thank you Sandra! I also have one more roommate who has not arrived yet.
I am slowing adjusting to life here. The weather has been bad, so even when it is day - it is still a bit dark. I miss the sunshine. 😞



Advertisement



7th January 2007

Hi!
Hello Emily! It was such a great surprise to get your first blog. I lost track of time and didn't realize you were already there. What a great adventure and you are already experiencing some of the differences between cultures, even if it's just the electrical current. Ha ha. I'm very excited for you and can't wait to hear of your continued experiences! RR
7th January 2007

Thanks for the update!!!
Hi Emily, Thanks for the update -- hang in there! As you get adjusted (and some rest) you will feel much better! Sleep always helps me to see the world in a brighter way!! AJ says "HI" I love you, Emily!! Thanks again -- you are in our prayers! Love, Aunt Joan
7th January 2007

Congrats!
Emily...congrats on your landing in Finland! hyvästi
7th January 2007

hey dear!! adjusting will probably be a little crazy for sure! but i am so excited for you!! keep up your adventurous attitude and don't let your brain go on screensaver too much :) i let tupu know you're coming. if you have her contact info just email her sometime. or i can give you hers too. peace, love, and halatas! (ask a finnish buddy about that one)
8th January 2007

A Good Start
Yes, the "days" are rather short during the winter where you're staying! It's wonderful that you have others to help with the adjustment. Did your computer connection start smoking because you had the wrong electrical connection? I know that my daughter had to buy converters for her equipment when she studied in Grenada. Keep writing... I love hearing from you and want to learn more about your experiences. We're hoping that everything goes well and that other students will want similar experiences. Donna
8th January 2007

You're doing it!
Emmy I love you and I am so excited for you... ok its not so easy at first but just think about our convos... and now you're the international student (i'm still jealous) hang in there and know we miss you here and are praying for you!
8th January 2007

When roughing it in Finland...
...the only solution is to do some redecorating! First on the list: pick up a '365 hot Finnish guys' daily calendar, which should be 50% off by now. Second on the list: try to find said guys... which has nothing to do with redecorating, but would be fun nonetheless! Anyway, things will get better very very soon, so for now enjoy the fact that you are IN ANOTHER COUNTRY!!! and know that God is with you every moment.
9th January 2007

Finland!
Good on ya, girl! Look how diverse you are, living with Germans, eating with Italians, and living in Finland. I expect you to be like quadlingual when you come back! I think I made that word up... Love you, mean it! I am pretty much jelous that now YOU are the one that is abroad, but am heaps proud of you as well! Make sure you catch up on their lingo and bring it back here. Then we will have influences from Aussie, Finland, and sing language! SWEET!

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb