First impressions and injuries


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Lapland
September 19th 2009
Published: September 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

goodbye Germanygoodbye Germanygoodbye Germany

Goodbye Germany - or Travel Agency
So here I go again from Finish Lappland. :-)
So much happened that I’m only going to write briefly about everything, especially because I have only 9 fingers to type, but later more.

First of all my new mobile number is +358 40 3650042 and my address is
Melanie Kasueske
Kurkkiomaa
99300 Muonio
Finland

I’m always happy to get some postcards/letters while up here.
I only have internet every now and then. I’m busy most of the time and we’re sharing a internet stick between the whole house :-)

The camp is great. They are about 500 dogs and we are 14 people working here at the moment… more in a few weeks when another new girl is going to arrive and all the guides are coming.
Most of my workmates are from Switzerland, but we also have one Austrian and a few Germans.
Two of the Swiss arrived the same day as I did which was good to not be the only new one.

The first few days we didn’t work as they wanted us to get to know the place first.
So we did. We went for two longer walks with the dogs which is pretty funny, you don’t take the dogs on a normal lead but you bind them around your waist … sometimes you just don’t know if you’re walking the dog or if the dog is walking you.
We also went out for dinner to a pub in the first few days and had a great day at the highrope garden in Levi :-)

In the evenings I normally walk with Rene (another German) and his dog. Normally just 1 hr but we also managed to forget about time and only find the way back after 3hrs lol

We live in a house with 7 rooms, a big living room, a sauna, bathrooms and a kitchen. It’s really cozy and I love living here. I’m sharing a room with Rene as we have to share in a few weeks anyway when all the others are coming.

The work is great. We feet the dogs and clean them in the morning which takes us about 3-4hrs and afterwards we do different things like building, cleaning, walking the dogs, playing with the little babydoggys :-)
But well, you all know me, of course something had to happen to me: I got bitten. Of course by accident while feeding, just didn’t pay attention for one moment. :-(
No worries nothing bad happened I’m just having a holiday from work now that it can heal alright.

Yesterday we went to Rovaniemi the capital city of Finish Lapland to do some shopping and stand on the arctic circle and visit santa clause town :-)
Absolutely fantastic :-)

Everytime I say we’re driving somewhere I have to say even if this is called Muonio, the actual Muonio is still 50km away from where I am. Closest town is Akaslompolo with about 25km and to Rovaniemi it took us about 3hrs :-)

Anyway I’ll keep you up to date as soon as I can work again.
Would be great to stay in touch with all of you somehow… you can also send me photos (via snailmail/post) that I can decorate my walls a little bit :-)





Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

High Rope TeamHigh Rope Team
High Rope Team

Fabienne, Michael, Ursina und Karen
Rene R. with the dogsRene R. with the dogs
Rene R. with the dogs

Rene with the A's Agila, Auma and Abby


30th September 2009

tell more about finland. it´s very interesting. have a nice day. bye bye björn

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb