Tartu - Tallin..bus or taxi ?


Advertisement
Estonia's flag
Europe » Estonia » Tartu
December 27th 2010
Published: December 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After a rather short but very nice vistit to my family in law, i was headed back to Bergen Norway on 26th of December from Tartu.

Getting to the busstation to go to Tallin to my flight 15 minutes before departure left me in a bad situation..handing over the luggage to the busdriver, he asks for a ticket..cant i buy from you i asked, as i did when i arrived ?. No, no..full he says, and ticket..all is chaos around the bus as people arrive all the time and he can find no more room for luggage. I run into the busstation, and find a open ticketoffice, im telling the nice lady where i want to go..and she speaks back in Estonian..she sees that im lost, so she turns her monitor and points @ next possible departure..2pm..

I starting pleeing, but being a guy @ 45 your charm is just so much..so i tried double..triple..and quadruple the pay for the ticket..no go. I saw the damm flight fly without me..and started wondering how much new tickets would cost..if i could get them.

Pretty pissed i was standing there when the bus left..i noticed a taxi next corner, and as a desperate last effort i go over to him and asks..do you speak english ? --the answer is offcource ..no. Then a bypassing lady that had noted my tries to get on the bus turns to help..and asks if she can help me translate. I was so happy for that help and told her the story in 2 sentences, asking her to ask him how much he wanted for driving me to Tallin.

They did some "parlee" and the woman presented the amount 2000...2000eek i said ? and yea..confirmed, with 2.5 hours max ..lets roll i said. The taxidriver wanted me to show the mony b4 going, so after going to the nearest ATM and having 2000 EEK in my hand he smiled and we rolled. Roads where horrible slippery..ppl driving like heros--i was scared. desperatly looking on the VW passats dashboard but could se no tractioncontrol..no antispin..nothing but an abs failure light..and a red light confirmed it once had a front airbag..but that was again all..i did not want an accident in this car.

Entering the highway, the driver did an very good job..max speed & max safety putting me on the airport in time..all hail to Tartu Taxi and this one fantastic driver.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb