Snow, frost and Ice…and a sleigh ride


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark
December 23rd 2005
Published: January 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Jingle bells jingle bellsJingle bells jingle bellsJingle bells jingle bells

Here comes the christmas tree
So for the past week I have been wrapping presents, window shopping, tagging along with my host sisters it has been good and I now have pictures of the giant Christmas tree from Norway ( I didn’t get a photo of the ice chunk from Greenland because it had melted too much..).

I got very excited on the 18th because when I got up and had breakfast I discovered that it was snowing outside (well not really just a little bit and it didn’t last for more than 5 minutes on the ground.) I got very excited and was rushing around telling everyone it was snowing. Jens rushed up to find out what I was getting so loud about and was relieved to discover I had not broken the fridge again. He told me it wasn’t real snow as it didn’t stay on the ground I said that wasn’t the point and said I was going to be excited anyway

We walked to the Christmas tree place about a 5 minute walk, from where my host family walks and chose the Christmas tree. We then had it home delivered which was entailed us getting a lift with the tree in a horse and cart/sleigh (pulled by Shetland ponies). The Shetlands were so eager to deliver our tree that they started walking towards the road by themselves with me and my host sisters on board with out a driver, just as well I grabbed the Reins and gave them a pull (I was sitting in the front ) but my host sisters were horrified. It was a lot of fun. Jens ran and kept up with us and took photos as we rode down the road. It was kind of funny that the driver turned too early and in the wrong direction so we had to point him in the right direction. What was pretty cool was that the Shetlands had bells on their harnesses so that they would jingle as we went along.

Today was Mofa’s sisters birthday. So we went over to her house to celebrate and I tried Danish snapps (actually made right here in alborg and there is a brand called Alborg aquavit) and herring. Decidedly one of the most shocking tasting things I have ever eaten/drunk as the snapps burns your mouth so that you cannot taste anything….

It is Little Christmas eve and I have helped my host mum make Recelemang or at least start making it as you have to leave it for 12 hours after you make the rice pudding before you put in the almonds, vanilla sugar and the cream. I have to get the recipe off my host mum so I can make it at home. I don’t think I will be able to take the special rice they use home but I think it is similar to Arborio rice so it should be ok. Also I have brought the cherry sauce so I will be able to have that too.. I have given my host family their little figurines for Christmas a little early and I have been helping Karin now that we have the Christmas tree. The table is set and the decorations are all on the tree including the candles that we will light when we are ready to walk around the tree singing carols.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb