A Danish Christmas.. with lots of carols


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark
December 26th 2005
Published: January 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We got up late on the day before Christmas and then went to visit some of Jens’ and Karin’s old neighbours for drinks it was interesting as I ran into a scout leader for the green scouts who was really interesting to talk to. We left after a few hours and a few carols.

We went to church at around 3 pm. We went to Karin’s church which was on the other side of the fjord. Jens had to go back and get Mofa because we forgot him! The service was very lovely and Karin’s choir performed. At the end we lit little candles and sang a carol. It was very nice.

We then had a hour before the guests started to arrive at Jens’ and Karin’s. So we put all the Christmas presents in the sitting room. Then we had to move the presents to under the tree as the room smelt of smoke and we couldn’t get rid of the smell.

The guests arrived and first we had roast pork and duck. We had these with potatoes gravy. After this we stood up and sung carols while holding hands and walking around the tree. We then had recelemang with cherry sauce, which we had finished making after we got back from church.

It was good and we all had some except my host sister Anne who doesn’t like it (she had ice cream and Nesquick instead.). so we all had 2nd helpings so that we could find the almond, Jens insisted on serving up my second helping and tried to fish for the almond. Santa then flew past so I had to get up and look for his sleigh. Any way it was kind of cool because I got the almond in my second helping and didn’t tell anyone I just hid it in my mouth. So everyone else had to finish all the recelemang and then they couldn’t work out where the almond was, until my host mum asked me whether or not I had it. My reply was to stick out my tongue and show them the almond. It was more funny because, my host dad, his sister and my host sister were sure that they were going to get it.

We then opened our presents and Kiki got to open her gift first. I opened my gifts from home first. I then opened my other presents which included little books on Alborg, Denmark and Hans Christian Anderson. I also got t-shirts from my host sisters and a pair of socks from Kiki. We then went hand had coffee before everyone said goodnight and went home.

We then went and visited Famor and FaFar because they had been unable to make it as famor was not well. So we gave them their Christmas gifts and stayed for some marzipan and juice. We then went to Karin and Jen’s and went to bed and it was cute to see Kiki picking up her boomerang and carrying it upstairs to bed.

For Christmas day we got up kind of late and I spoke to my family for whom it was Christmas night and got the chance to talk to a few of my relies but as they were ringing from Nan’s house had we made it pretty quick and mum said she would ring on boxing day. I had a shower and then we all walked to Mofar’s for Chrismas lunch. We had lasagne as well as Christmas sausage, rye bread, cold meats and herring (the herring was optional). We had just finished eating the main when Famor and Fafar came and we played cards. They taught me a game called red wine which was lots of fun when I got the idea of how to play. We then had some chocolate before we left and walked back to Karin and Jens. It was very pretty and though it was not snowing, there was so much frost it looked like if you touched some things, they would snap.

We then did our own thing for a while and then I took Anne to see Chronicles of Nania: The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe which was great. Though the cinemas were a bit expensive the seats recline a bit and the cinemas are also smaller (very good sound as well) so I guess its all relative. One annoying thing was that it was 10 minutes before the end of the movie and I started needing to go to the toilet. I figured that I would wait until the end of the film and go so I did only to discover that you couldn’t exit the same way you entered at the end. Instead of going out the same way you came you exit out the side at the front, which is also the fire exit, which leads out into the street. It was just as well that Karin and Kathrine’s movie had also just finished so we went strait home and I used the bathroom first….

We then had a very small dinner (we were still kind of full from lunch) and I watched the rest of the first lord of the rings films with Jens because it was on TV. It was quite funny to see when Aragon and Arywin were speaking Elfish, they skipped the English subtitles and just translated it straight into Danish.


Advertisement



6th January 2006

Hi Mindy, It's been great to read of all your adventures. Sounds like you're having a ball. Good on you. Thanks for the postcard - what a lovely surprise. I hope you keep having a wonderful time. Stay well and safe and happy. Lots of love Geraldine.
8th January 2006

This is great, what fun, try and get scoop on the blog even if you don'y have time for Boxing day Cheere Mum
9th January 2006

Hey Mel, Nice to see you are having fun and snow as well, none of that stuff here, I am looking forward to long chat when you come back, meanwhile keep having fun. Paul.

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb