A Danish Christmas Concert..


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark
December 15th 2005
Published: January 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Tonight was the St. Mary’s School Christmas concert. My host mum told me that every year the grade 5 class perform the Christmas Story. Both my host sisters have been the angel Gabrielle but this year they are playing in the band.

As I got in the car I smacked my head and then the door swung in and hit the other side of my head. Luckily we still had a bit of time so my host dad got me some Panadol and an ice pack to use. We arrived early as my host sisters were playing before the concert began as well as during it. The concert was held in the St Mary’s Church. Anna played with both the Little Big Band and the Big Band. The little big band played first and one of the songs they performed was and it was very cool that they were moving their instruments in unison while playing. The Big Band then performed very well and then the junior choir followed. Then was time for the performance.

There were several songs in the play, and most of them were written just for the play. It a bit different that the roman soldiers were running around the church and stabbing people. I think when I watch it tomorrow again with the school I will avoid sitting in beside the isles as I was stabbed 4 times (with a fake sword, of course). They were very clever and it was funny when King Herod was introduced the servant ahhummed him which was funny also latter the same servant was napping at the front of the stage while sucking his thumb. It was interesting to see the Christmas story performed in Danish and sung in Danish.
What was also very good was that when the Christmas star was being followed by the wise men it was being moved above our heads using wires which looked very good.

After the concert we went for Christmas drinks at a friend of my host parents’ house. My host family didn’t remember to tell me the dress code so I was still wearing the clothes from school. Which was kind of bad as everyone else was more dressed up. We had soft drinks and then went upstairs and watched the Christmas concert from when Kathrine was in it as Gabrielle.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb