Halfway point came too quick.


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Midtjylland » Aarhus
February 20th 2010
Published: February 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Sunshine.Sunshine.Sunshine.

My sister created a journal for me. This is one of our favorite additions to it.
Half of my exchange year is over. How did that happen SO fast?! The idea that my time here is quickly and surely escaping me is not something I'm content with. So many great things have happened, and so many more great experiences are on the way. First off, we have Newbies now!! The girls seem like fun, they're trying to gain their footing in this crazy country, and that's all right.

I've been visiting some pretty neat things here in Denmark. On Thursday, my host parents took me to a modest museum. There were some really cool things about Greenland (it used to belong to Denmark) and some awesome Viking displays. The pride and joy of the museum however, is that it houses the Worlds Best Preserved Bog Corpse. A very well preserved 2000 year old body was found in a bog, and after a bit of restoration, it is displayed in the museum. Also, in Aarhus, there is a church called Domkirken. It's the "main church" of the city. We walked inside with my class and learned about various paintings on the wall. It was beautiful. Then we walked to a smaller church within the city which houses
Farm mountain CoffeeFarm mountain CoffeeFarm mountain Coffee

Our favorite coffee place :)
the oldest church room in Denmark. It was small and interesting enough to see. Afterwords we went to a One room Viking Museum located underneath a bank.

Speaking of banks reminds me that I have paid for my 3 week Euro tour! I could not possibly be more excited! We will be traveling to: Berlin, Prague, Vienna, Lido di Jesolo, Venice, Verona, Paris, Brussels, Amsterdam, and ending with Hamburg before returning to Denmark. So many cities, and memories to be made.

I am also happy to say that I paid my 500 DKK pledge to Exchange Students for Haiti. An exchange student here in Denmark started the group and managed to unite exchange students all over the world to help our cause. We purchased Rotary Shelter Boxes with the money collected and had them sent to Haiti to help those in need there. I'm so proud of all us for coming together and making a difference through a great organization like Rotary International.

Well...life moves slowly in the winter, but I can feel that spring is pushing it's lovely way into Denmark. Not as fast as I would prefer, but so it goes. I can also feel
Fur.Fur.Fur.

A fur coat is put on display to demonstrate the clothing required in Greenland.
that I have integrated more into the society and culture. I prefer bread and cheese for breakfast over sugary cereals, and nothing beats a cosy movie at night with family, a cup of tea, and a warm fireplace. Also, there is a coffee place my Pennsylvanian friend go to every week. There is a lady there who always speaks to us and she even gave us free coffee once!

I've got to go now, but thank you for taking the time to read up on my mild adventures. 😉


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Teaching ArtTeaching Art
Teaching Art

If you lay under these floating discs, images from Greenland can be seen accompanied by sounds from the land.
Walking..Walking..
Walking..

Beautiful scenes unfold themselves when you least expect it.
Gå en tur..Gå en tur..
Gå en tur..

Going for a walk with my host parents.
Atomkraft?Atomkraft?
Atomkraft?

Nej Tak. Protests to using Atomic Bombs
Runes.Runes.
Runes.

Examples of ancient runes which have been found in Viking Villages.
SlinkyyySlinkyyy
Slinkyyy

Slinkys are fun at any age.


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.025s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb