Last Stop: Copenhagen!


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
April 22nd 2015
Published: April 22nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

BikesBikesBikes

Remind anyone of Amsterdam? Sure reminded me! Careful crossing the streets by foot here!
Shit, so I already wrote like 3/4 of this and then accidentally pressed the back button and lost it all, so don't expect the same enthusiasm as usual. Uuuughgfndnsnbsjsj.

Jk, I'll do my best.

Yay, I get to select a new country today for this entry!

Yesterday marked both my last half-day in Sweden, and my first half-day in Denmark.

I woke up, packed the rest of my stuff in my backpacks (and trust me, it was a struggle to get all that leftover food in there... I'm lucky I didn't pull out a loaf of bread on the train instead of my Eurail pass ?) and had my breakfast before going to check out.

I dumped my sheets and towel and handed over my key card, to which I got in return, a letter... From Peter.

I started to read and instantly, my heart dropped.

His wallet had been stolen the night before, with all his money and documents inside. He must return to Copenhagen and end his journey.

I feel absolutely awful, but the receptionist said that he left even before she got there early that morning, so there was nothing I could do, especially with no contact info or even a full name.

With this information and the hope of someday tracking him down again in the back of my mind, I set out in still a good mood; its travel day!!

I choose to walk the short distance back to the train station, and say one last goodbye to Malmö before boarding the train to Copenhagen.

A few minutes from my destination (the trip is less that 40 minutes in total!), we reach the Øresund bridge that connects Sweden and Denmark. I'm sure it looks really cool from an outsider's point of view, and it was actually pretty neat from inside the train as well. Also to clear things up for you all, yes, there are train tracks underneath the road portion of the bridge, making it a double decker method of traversing the water. Pretty awesome!

About 3/4 of the way across...

Interruption to save so I don't lose it again.

Ok, about 3/4 of the way across, I notice the water level getting increasingly closer to my sight line, and then all of a sudden, darkness. We are now in the
ShortsShortsShorts

Yup, I took a picture of me wearing shorts for the first time in forever.
underwater tunnel portion of the bridge!!

When we emerge on the other side, we are now in Denmark and only a stop or two away from my final destination on my adventure.

We reach København H, the central station, and I begin my search for free wifi to figure out where I'm going - McDons to the rescue!

I find the right direction and set out on what would become a 5.14km trek across the city and out to a suburb on the outskirts of town. You can imagine it felt so good to take off my backpack and peel off my money belt that had become stuck with sweat to my belly, when I reached the reception.

I checked in, found my room and immediately stripped off some layers before laying down for a nap to recharge before the next quest of orientation began.

I woke up and zipped off my pants to come to the momentous occasion of Nic wearing shorts for the first time in 7 months, woooohooooo... Feels so good.

I set out, super unintentionally, on a walk that would bring me, you know, all the way back down to where I started the afternoon. But I did, however, find the Frederiksberg Park that was suggested to me, and I did stroll around for an hour or two.

Another absolutely beautifully maintained European park.. We really need to get on that, or I just need to find them in my own backyard!

Anyways, I exited the park near where I had walked past earlier on, and decided, what the heck, I'm already this far, I might as well walk further downtown and find somewhere to eat.

So I did.

Aaaaand, I didn't find anything that tickled my fancy, so I turned around and headed back towards the hostel.

At this point, you may be wondering, "Nic, how the heck far did you want today?!" As I myself was wondering the same thing. By the time I got back to the hostel that evening, according to the great health app (yes, that's a plug for Apple) estimated my walking distance in excess of 31km! Might be a little off, but that's what I'm Rollin' with!

But dinner, I finally found a place that I accepted called The Bronx, very European, I know. But there's a
Random Crane chillenRandom Crane chillenRandom Crane chillen

No zoom, I swear it was that close... I almost thought it was fake! Taken in Frederiksberg Park
strange feeling when you're downtown and you're just too overwhelmed with options and people and cars and noises, and you just settle with familiarity, and I think that's perfectly ok to do. So The Bronx Burgers it was, and it was good. A burger fully loaded with bacon lettuce, tomato, guacamole, mayo, a side of curly fries and chilimayo, and a Carlsberg (one of the national beers of Danmark) definitely hit the spot after a looooong day.

I made it back to the hostel just as the sun was beginning to go down, and decided, hey why not walk some more, this time absolutely worth it, as I strolled the neighbourhood streets and park that surround the hostel, honestly tearing up in the moment of it being so beautiful and my current situation.

I return to my room and take a shower before curling in for the night.

Thanks for a great first day Denmark... Can't wait for tomorrow!

- NB


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Probably an important buildingProbably an important building
Probably an important building

Also taken in the park


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb