.orientation.orientation.orientation.


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
August 25th 2009
Published: August 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today I attended an orientation session that was a crash-intro to Danish life. Topics addressed included:

According to the presenter, Danes:

So it will take a while to get used to the subtleties and nuances of Danish interaction, which is I guess the moral of the story.


Amanda and I met up in the afternoon for a delicious picnic in the park. There are lots of different parks in and around Copenhagen. It's almost like you can escape from the city, at least temporarily, and seek refuge in a park. The trees are also comforting. Sometimes cities can be so cold and sterile and manufactured. But between the trees in the parks and the ocean on the coast, there's enough nature to keep this city pleasant.
After lunching in the park Amanda and I paraded across Copenhagen to the National Museum. The two exhibits we visited were Danish Pre-history and Danish Stories 1660-2000. Both were very interesting, and I definitely need to go back sometime later in my stay to finish up the 1900s and see the other exhibits. (For pictures, check out Amanda's blog at www.abroad09.blogspot.com.) We kind of had to rush through the end to go to an activities fair of sorts that my program put together. Different organizations represented included:

Needless to say I will have plenty to do this semester and next. I can already look forward to my first short study tour to northern Germany on September 10 - that's right around the corner. But in the meantime there is plenty to explore in my own neighborhood.

Advertisement



27th August 2009

WOWWW
Wow Elisabeth!! that's nasty about how high the chlamydia rate is...yuck. and..gastronomy club? that's definitely new to me. are you joining??

Tot: 0.293s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb