On the way to Kalmar, Sweden


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
May 27th 2009
Published: May 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

In the mornig I let Ania sleep a little bit longer after such marathon trips we took last three days. I went to buy a tickets and being spoiled by the fact that everybody (and I mean everybody) speaks perfect english, I bought a ticket which I did not mean to buy. The young guy (?) could not understand me (probably) and I had a very hard time to understand him. It ended up that I bought ticket for the wrong hour and only to Alvesta (he said he can not sell me ticket to Kalmar) and I had only 10 min. to change the trains and buy tickets. I gave up and took what I got. It made me upset even more when waiting for my train 20 min earlier it was a train straight to Kalmar without any change of the train. At least I had a chance to ride a super fast train, which goes about 200 km per hour. Thank heavens Alvesta has a really small station so while Ania was waiting for me I ran, got the tickets and was able to get on the train on time.
In the morning before we left we went for a short stroll (remember no more walking!) through the city. It is maybe not the most beautifull city but it has its own charm. Especially I like those canals in old part of the town, many parks and statues. As in many cities in northern Europe many people, young or old, use bikes to move around. I even have seen bikes which look like rikshash, where they can keep 2 children in front of the bike. There are special paths for bikes through out the city, many places designated to store them, and they can take them to the trains. I asked my friend why bikes are so popular, she said because they ( Danish) are so enviromental conscious. It makes a perfect sense for me.
Sorry no photos I can not figure out this computer, it is tooooo slow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0736s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb