Culture Shock....


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
February 5th 2007
Published: February 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

First Saturday out in CopenhagenFirst Saturday out in CopenhagenFirst Saturday out in Copenhagen

At club Vega. Meet the group.
I arrived in Copenhagen On January 9th. I was two days late to my 3-week pre-semester intensive intro to Danish course. In Denmark, the sun appears about one hour a day during the month of January. It rained for my first three weeks. I was terribly lost in my Danish course. I couldn't eat or sleep. But after week one was over, the exhaustion faded and the fun and excitement took over. Also, I met some fabulous friends during my Danish course.
So I experienced a bit of culture shock at first and decided to write about it...

Cultural Conversions

When I arrived the verbiages and rhythms of voices were incomparable to any common sound.

Not a single recognizable set of eyes, lips or arms was there to introduce me to the sunless weather.

The first four nights were tormented by abrupt 2am morning routines; without the guidance of a cup of coffee.

I figured perhaps one thing, or one task could be discovered with ease, but no such convenience existed.

Shoe size
Temperature
Food
Money
Time
Distance
Toilets

Converting levels of patience, energy and independence demanded by the climate takes longer than a month, for I’m still not fully built in grams of adaptation.

Yet I discovered a proof or a type of equation that dissipated several kilometers of frustration…

On one side of the worldly spectrum, all things that can be weighed or measured in some fashion have infinite scales of differentiation.

On the other side, with equal validity…there sits a controlled variable- whether cruel hearted, saintly blessed, rich in wisdom or lithe with adventure, individuals average out equally.

Meaning: People can be the same pretty much anywhere you find them.

So if you ever travel somewhere unknown, indeed measuring objects can leave you melancholy in chaos.

However, when interpreting compassion, throw your calculator aside for a bit of cultural relief.


Balancing the ways of humanity needs no converting.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0298s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb